Carne en su Jugo (Meat in its Juices) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I simmered for an hour and flank steak was completely tender! My boyfriend from Guadalajara gave my meal an A+ and said he felt like he was back in Guadalajara! One change I made was 30 minutes into the simmer I added the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I love this recipe, the only thing I can add is that I cut the tomatillos in half and chopped the garlic before putting it in the water, otherwise there was no need to change anything. This is by far the best recipe on this site. \0/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chili Dogma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Yum! Turn this into a crock pot recipe and skip the expensive meat! Choose the beef stew chunks, already cut and ready to go. After you brown the meat in step 2, be sure to drain the juice for a better tasting crock pot outcome. Everything else is perfect as is. I add extra hot peppers since the crock pot cooks out some of the hotness. I make this almost weekly, eat if for dinner, take it to work, eat it with eggs for breakfast. The most authentic Mexican food I've ever been able to create AND the most authentic than any restaurant I've found. Must try - It is so hard to mess up this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Made this today as my step-son loves Mexican food above all else. I took a reviewer's suggestion and used pot roast. Also, cut it into bite size pieces, browned it in the bacon fat, then put it into a crock pot with the tomatillo mixture. Took other suggestions and used beef broth vs. chicken bouillon. I watched a video of a version being made online...that person kept taking the liquid that was coming off of the flank steak and draining it into a pot then used this liquid to mix with the tomatillo to puree. This way the flank steak was sauteed without too much liquid which might be why the reviewer found the steak did not get tender for them. Using the chuck roast and crock pot saved quite a bit of time. With all that said...I received rave reviews from my picky husband and super picky step-son so well worth the effort PLUS against my prediction, I loved it!!! Really quite good...has a nice bite but not overly spicy. I served this with rice on the side and made some cornbread...just a mix with some cheese and part of a can of chili peppers stirred in. Don't skip any of the finishing touches...each one adds to the complex flavor..I thought the bacon was weird but it truly is delicious...the fresh cilantro etc. are all musts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I live south of Guadalajara, and this recipe is dead on for how the locals make it. I think the reason some of those outside of Mexico are having trouble with the flank steak being not tender enough is that we don't age our meat here in Mexico. I saw some people draining the beans, but that adds extra liquid and flavor. I don't think this recipe needs to be altered at all, unless you want to call it something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Fabulous! Used tenderized skirt steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great dish for those end of garden vegetables. I love the taste especially with the fresh onion and cilantro served on top of each bowl. The canned pinto I used had jalapeños in them which added nice flavor. I doubled the recipe because this recipe states it feeds only four. I have extra ingredients on hand plus want some for the freezer. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Delicious, I didn't have much time to let the meat simmer so mine was a little tough, but the flavor was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Loved it! I used Arracharra (flank steak tenderized by puncture from the butcher) from the Mexican grocery store. I cut the steak into pieces and marinated in a bag with fresh lime juice and Adobo while other things were cooking. I also made my own pinto beans, using 2 C dry beans, soaking overnight in 9 C water and then cooking w/2 pieces bacon, onion & garlic. My end product was much darker than the photo, maybe because my beans turned out dark. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Bussman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I lived in Guadalajara for 3 years and have been searching for this recipe! thank you for posting this. I like that you can make it to ones own liking by adding your own favorite ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States