Carne en su Jugo (Meat in its Juices) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nancy Padilla
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Made it for my hubby and little ones.. Used all ingredients and they freaken loved it!!! This Zacatecana girl can cook.. A way through a mans heart is through his stomach! Definitely recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this tonight and didn't change a thing and it came out perfectly. I kept wanting to drift off from the simple recipe, but I didn't stray. Great taste. The cilantro, lime and onion added before serving are key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Chief

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amityville, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
i figured its my turn to contribute ... i kept all th eoriginal ingredients but when i was browning the meat i added garlic salt, sazon goya (orange packets), mojo criollo and onion. It was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I'm a single Father of three teenage daughters, and we have been enjoying this one together for a few years now. This is at least a bi-weekly staple in our menu-and also very easy as long as you think about the timing and have the ingredients that need to be cooked ahead of time, it's very simple. I don't heat the beans (I use Ranch Style beans in the blk & yellow can). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I LOVE this recipe!!!! My Girl Scout troop grew tomatillos in our community garden and didn't know what to prepare with them. We tried this recipe, and it is a staple for all of us now! Easy and delicious...a perfect combination (and it's very reasonable cost-wise).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This recipe is great!! I am from Guadalajara, and I know that the traditional way of making it is, with tomatillo. But I grew up eating my mom's version without it and it is amazing as well. Now when I'm homesick, I cook it for my gringo husband. The only thing that this recipe is missing for an A+ on my end.... is to have some avocado tacos with it. Oh yes ma'am! Warm up some corn tortillas, place some avocado slices in the middle, sprinkle some salt, roll, and take a bite with every spoonful of carne en su jugo. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pauorti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I didn't have flank steak, so I used part of roast I had, cut into pieces. I also used homemade beans versus canned. Three of three kids gave it a thumbs up, and so did hubby. This will be part of our regular rotation. I didn't make it as spicy as the recipe calls for, but only because of the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Oh my goodness! I buy this from a Mexican restaurant I go to often & always wanted to make it. It seems really complicated but it's quite simple. I loved it! My kids ask why I've never fixed it before & asked for it every day until I had to make it again that same week. I fix it once a week now since everyones so fond of it (it's so fast & easy). I made minor changes, may be major to some but I use seasoned fajita meat out of the deli section at my neighborhood grocery store, can of chicken broth,chopped celery & rotel? Yes rotel...I could not find green tomatoes anywhere? Eat Greedy!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanni29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Favorite soup of all time! My husband may like this soup more than he likes me…just kidding, but he really does love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I cannot speak to its authenticity, but I can tell you this is a really good bean soup. Just like ham ‘n beans, only made with beef. I could not find flank steak, so I used top round steak. I just finished making a large pot of pinto beans, so I decided to use those instead of canned. I’m glad I did because I found this to be very salty. I can’t image what it would have tasted like had I used canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States