Carne Guisada III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This recipe was very good. I've learned from past experiences that Sazon and Adobo seasoning are basically seasoning salts. So using tomato sauce w/o salt is good, and/or omitting the extra salt "to taste" or even cutting the adobo seasoning in 1/4-1/2 the amount helps out. As a shortcut I boiled the meat for 30 min, then added the potatoes and cooked until tender; it turned out wonderful and saved me 30 min. This is definitely a keeper for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I made this in a slow cooker using the sofrito (also by fivebrig's), and homemade adobo seasoning. I let this cook about 6-7 hours, adding the potatoes the last hour. I used a chuck roast. This was wonderful with habichuelas guisadas and steamed calrose rice. Leftovers are going to be wonderful with some flour tortillas! I can't say thank you enough for sharing this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I had never had Puerto Rican food before, and this was a perfect experience for me. I do, however, agree that it was salty. My Puerto Rican mother-in-law raved over it. I made it in my crock pot, as she suggested and the meat was simply falling apart tender. Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Very good! I use a 12 oz. can of Coors Light in my carne guisada. It adds alot of flavor and tenderizes the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I has 3 lbs of beef cubes that I had to use up and I wanted to make a delicious prican meal....FOUND IT! First thing I did was sear my adobo seasoned cubes in olive oil to brown all sides (about 15 min total stirring once they were browned). In the same pot I added about 1 cup of water and boiled the cubes for 45 min (kept adding water) and then turn down the heat and simmered for another 45 minutes. Doing that really tenderized my meat. Then I followed the directions exactly. Really flavorful!!! Just like my Mama used to make!!! BUEN PROVECHO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Mightymiri
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very good :) I added a carrot for some extra flavor and color. Easy on the salt, if you're not into saltiness. The seasonings already have salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Wow, I can't believe how close to my mom's beef stew this came! Very fast to put together. My husband complemented how flavorful it was. Only changes I made were that I first seared the beef on the stove (lightly seasoning the beef and coating with flour first--which helps to thinken the gravy), and I used low sodium beef broth in place of the water. My 6 year old is already requesting me to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This recipe brought me back! My parents are from Puerto Rico and it reminded me of my younger days! I followed everything but omitted the salt. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENAIDE
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
my hubby loved it (he's from PR). I wasnt a big fan since i'm not too fond of the big chunks of beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I'm Puerto Rican and grew up with this dish. Every family has it's own interpretation on it. Instead of using the Adobo, I add chopped up onions, a few garlic cloves, and Chopped up Green Peppers. This gives it another level of flavor without having to add any extra salt. I have also used Beef stock or Beef bouillon when I made a bigger portion for some added flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelsea, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States