Carne Guisada III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Excellent change up from the standard pot roast. Enjoyed thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I used this recipe for the 1st time and it was delish!! Recommend for anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IliaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Perfect!! I made this recently for my Puerto Rican husband and he said it was beyond good and very authentic..very similar to what he raised on. It's really good with the steamed rice (also on this site!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Wow, I can't believe how close to my mom's beef stew this came! Very fast to put together. My husband complemented how flavorful it was. Only changes I made were that I first seared the beef on the stove (lightly seasoning the beef and coating with flour first--which helps to thinken the gravy), and I used low sodium beef broth in place of the water. My 6 year old is already requesting me to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This was superb. I also omitted the salt, and since my husband has high blood pressure and needs to reduce sodium, in future I'll reduce the adobo also. It was a big hit in our house. I used my Puerto Rican neighbour's home made sofrito that she kindly gave me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
My hub gives this a 5; I'd give it 4.5-ish. It was really good, and reminded me of my Spanish missionary days. I used it as a way to use up some leftover roasted chicken, so really it was Pollo Guisado. :) I let the chicken "cook" for 30 min, and then added the potatoes for an additional 15-20 min on low. I added cilantro as a garnish, and I thought it really added to the dish, but my husband preferred it without. Overall, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
SOOO GOOD!!I added a bit of cilantro at the end and it came out great. I didn't have any homeade sofrito but the frozen GOYA brand worked out just fine. I added some carrots along with the potatoes. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Just like I have had in the past! I cooked without salt but ended up sprinkling it on because I like this dish a bit salty and it has always been that way when I have eaten it before. Meat was so tender and and I added 1 cup of carrots as well. Next time I'll add more potatoes and carrots because there seemed to be a lot of meat. I ate this over the steamed rice, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
It was good, but just tasted like another form of stew to me. not very exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Soooo good. I've made this on the stove and in the crockpot and it tastes great both ways. I added some green pepper, onions, and fresh parsley. This recipe is definitely a regular in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States