Carne Guisada III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I tried this recipe in the crock pot, and followed directions to the letter. I think my crock pot is on the large side, and I added water to cover the meat. I think it turned out a bit watery. I had never had "carne guisada" and wanted to try a new recipe for my Puerto Rican husband. It tastes like the good ol American version of beef stew, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Ok...not the best I've ever had. Tender but a little dry. Next time I'll try the crock pot.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was good but definitely reduce the salt, made as the recipe is written it is WAY too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was not like the Carne Guisada I am used to but it was really good!!! My kids even ate it and loved it. It was not even too spicy with the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Excellent change up from the standard pot roast. Enjoyed thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I used this recipe for the 1st time and it was delish!! Recommend for anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IliaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Perfect!! I made this recently for my Puerto Rican husband and he said it was beyond good and very authentic..very similar to what he raised on. It's really good with the steamed rice (also on this site!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Wow, I can't believe how close to my mom's beef stew this came! Very fast to put together. My husband complemented how flavorful it was. Only changes I made were that I first seared the beef on the stove (lightly seasoning the beef and coating with flour first--which helps to thinken the gravy), and I used low sodium beef broth in place of the water. My 6 year old is already requesting me to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This was superb. I also omitted the salt, and since my husband has high blood pressure and needs to reduce sodium, in future I'll reduce the adobo also. It was a big hit in our house. I used my Puerto Rican neighbour's home made sofrito that she kindly gave me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
My hub gives this a 5; I'd give it 4.5-ish. It was really good, and reminded me of my Spanish missionary days. I used it as a way to use up some leftover roasted chicken, so really it was Pollo Guisado. :) I let the chicken "cook" for 30 min, and then added the potatoes for an additional 15-20 min on low. I added cilantro as a garnish, and I thought it really added to the dish, but my husband preferred it without. Overall, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States