Carne Guisada III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Great Recipe! I dredged the meat before cooking, in flour. That made the sauce a little thicker towards the end so it wasn't so soupy. I didn't have some of the seasonings so I substituted and it still came out great. For the sofrito sauce I added 3 TB chopped onion, 1/3 tsp ground corriander, dash oregano and pepper, 2 cloves minced garlic, 2 TB chopped green peppers, 3 TB chopped tomato. I didn't have any Adobo seasoning, so I just left it out. I also, by accident, added about 3/4 cup of frozen peas. (I dumped them in thinking I grabbed the frozen chopped onions). It tasted great and still added some extra veggies to the pot. I also added 1 cup of chopped carrots about 1 hr before it was done. The carrots were still firm in the middle and not mushy at all. I will definetly use this recipe again. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Perfect, so close to the one made in the island.My wife is puertorican and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
i have made this about five times only change is that i add carrots and i don't add the adobe or extra salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reynaldo Dennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This dish competes with the "Mom and Pop" Puerto Rican joints in the area. My father was Puerto Rican so I grew up on this stuff...tastes just like my father used to make! Please post more recipes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
My kids loved it. It was very easy to prepare. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
My Puerto Rican boyfriend loved this! I followed the recipe exactly except I used chicken breast instead of stew meat. I served it with white rice and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Just like my mom used to make. Loved it. A perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was good, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Very good! I use a 12 oz. can of Coors Light in my carne guisada. It adds alot of flavor and tenderizes the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi Sotomayor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was delicious. I've been trying to cook more Puerto Rican meals for my husband since that is what he grew up with as a child. I used homemade sofrito sauce that I already had made. I didn't have potatoes so I could not add those, but it still turned out great. I browned the meat before adding it to the sauce mixture. The meat turned out so tender. I saved some for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States