Carne Guisada III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by 79SHALE97
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
A pot of this is simmering as I type. While living in NYC back in 2000, I had this dish for the first time and instantly fell in love. After moving back to AZ I couldnt for the life of me remember the name of it, but I did remember it was a Latin stew. As always, I rearranged the recipe to fit what types of ingredients I have on hand. Didnt have the sofrito sauce or the adobo and sazon seasonings. Since these are extremely high in sodium, I figured no harm/no foul. For the seasonings..I added minced garlic, ground cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, dried oregano, mrs dash, and fresh cracked sea salt and pepper. For the tomato base...2 cans of tomato sauce, 1 can tomato paste, 1 can diced green chile peppers, and 1 can rotel tomatoes. I added my seasoning mixture to this tomato base and let it simmer in a large pot for 10 minutes. In saute pan, I browned 2 lbs of stew meat seasoned with flour, mrs dash, cumin, and chili powder. I added the meat to the tomato mixture and I'm gonna let it simmer for about a few hours and the last hour add some cubed red potato and some sliced carrots..cooking until the potatoes are tender. Serving with Habichuelas Guisadas and rice. I will update with the taste results once dinner is served! Update - Turned out fantastic!! The fam gobbled it up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Great recipe. I've made the recipe many times now and my family really enjoys it. It reminds me of a dish my mother-in-law (who's no longer with us) used to make. Sometimes I add carrots to the dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I added a few things and cut down on others, I guess it is just up to someone's taste preferences. Overall I would recommend this recipe to anyone that loves Carne Guisada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this dish for the first time and it was excellent my grandmother use to make all these great dishes when I was younger and she is no longer with us..I am so happy with this site..When I cook these dishes it bring me back to the time when she was here...so thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
My family enjoys this meal often. I add a dash more oregano, some corn, carrots and peas to give it an even heartier taste. I sprinkle some fresh chopped cilantro on top of each serving. WONDERFUL TASTE AND SMELL THROUGHOUT HOUSE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Wow this is just like we eat in puerto rico at abuela's house. I did add some fresh cilantro in place of recaio. Otherwise, follow this recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teena1015

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I can say it came out really good, I also add it cut tomato...and it gave that that extra kick.. thank you for your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randallstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Everyone in the family loved this. I made my own adobo and sazon powders because the versions I found in the store all had MSG and lots of other weird chemicals. Other than that, I made the recipe exactly as directed and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Great Recipe! I dredged the meat before cooking, in flour. That made the sauce a little thicker towards the end so it wasn't so soupy. I didn't have some of the seasonings so I substituted and it still came out great. For the sofrito sauce I added 3 TB chopped onion, 1/3 tsp ground corriander, dash oregano and pepper, 2 cloves minced garlic, 2 TB chopped green peppers, 3 TB chopped tomato. I didn't have any Adobo seasoning, so I just left it out. I also, by accident, added about 3/4 cup of frozen peas. (I dumped them in thinking I grabbed the frozen chopped onions). It tasted great and still added some extra veggies to the pot. I also added 1 cup of chopped carrots about 1 hr before it was done. The carrots were still firm in the middle and not mushy at all. I will definetly use this recipe again. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Perfect, so close to the one made in the island.My wife is puertorican and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States