Carne Guisada III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This recipe was absolutely wonderful. I followed it to the letter and dinner was AMAZING. My mom was super impressed and she is a Puerto Rican cooking QUEEN. Even she thought the taste was great. I got rave reviews from EVERYONE. Thanks for posting. OK...I just needed to add an update. I loved the flavor so much I thought to try it again, this time with Chicken. The only thing I did differently was add a bunch of Cilantro 1/2-1cup and 5 Garlic Cloved (minced). OMG. it tasted just like my Mom use to make when I was a Kid. This recipe is absolutely the best. I have had people asking me for this recipe on several occasions. Try it. It super easy and extremely yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
to make this real puerto rican carne guisada you have to add a hand full or more (depending on how much you like olives they taste slightly different when cooked) of stuffed olives or green olives with the seeds still in them in the first five minutes while your cooking the sofrito. other then that this is exactly how my PR native MIL taught me how to make this i add alot more sofrito to the mix *wink cant ever get enough of that Puerto Rican lovin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhoenixMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chamberlain, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Freeport, New York, USA
Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very good. I added 2 cans of tomato sauce, 2 cups of water and baby carrots. I put frozen beef cubes in the crock pot and added all the ingredients(did not add salt) and cooked on high for 3 hrs, turned to low and cooked for 6 hours. The meat was so tender. Reminded me of beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
All I can say is Amazing! I added potatoes, carrots, & peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Made as written and it came out way too salty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was yummy! My family loved it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was easy and really good. My boyfriend loved it!!!! I added pinto beans to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I used cubed pork tenderloin (because that is what I had) dredged in flour before browning,and cooked it in the sauce in a slow cooker on low for 6 hours. I also added sliced carrots and potatoes during the last hour. Delicious! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
After our family vacation to Puerto Rico, we all came back craving the food. I found this recipe and with one small change (I add carrots) it has worked it's way into our slowcooker meal rotation and we have this at least once a month. Excellent the first time around as well as left overs. Thank you for the helpful tips for the sofrito and adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Trevor, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is a great recipe.. takes a little patience because if you do it just right the flavor will be incredible. I have made this recipe for family and friends and everyone has raved at how good it comes out.. definite 5 stars!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States