Carne Guisada III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Mine came out like beef stew. Don't get me wrong still delicious. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
The recipe was easy to follow, and the food came out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Like everyone else says, don't add the extra salt. You don't really need it. Also I added a can of dark beer when the meat was cooking to tenderize it a little. Overall, my friends think I'm a genius at cooking because of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have used this recipe multiple times, such great puertorican flavor! I have cooked it with beef stew and pork chops too, works well with either, I also throw in a chopped onion for more flavor, thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I am Puerto Rican and let me tell you this recipe is GREAT! The only adjustments I made were that I doubled the tomato sauce, I browned the meat as suggested and then lowered the heat to simmer for 2-3 hours so the meat comes out tender. Also, I added all veggies as I was browning the meat so they could soak up the flavors and my veggies never come out mushy. I make some white rice on the side and you can also make some plantains as a side dish either sweet or not. For those saying it is too salty well Latin food is very flavorful, this dish doesn't really require you to use salt if you opt not to or taste the sauce as it cooks (once you meat is cooked) and add as you go along. A BIG BIG BIG thank you to FIVEBRIGS for posting this, it has become a family favorite!! I wish I could post a pic, but I made 3 pounds of stew last night and there are no leftovers ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Use a crock pot and add carrots. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Morton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I don't understand how I would brown the meat in the sauce, so will sear the meat first, remove it from the pan, and then cook the sauce and proceed. I can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I'm from PR and this was very close to my mom's recipe; except for the saltiness. Next time I'm going to use low salt options, if available, i.e., tomato sauce. I'm hoping to find low salt versions of the Goya Sazon packets and the Adobo seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1964arrieta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Well, this recipe managed to impress our most picky eater in the family, although I had to make several alterations to the recipe to fit our dietary requirements. I left out the potatoes because we have to watch our carbs, and I also substituted venison for the beef for cholesterol purposes. I added a chopped onion and jalapeno just for texture, and I also put in a few tsps of adobo sauce for extra heat. It seems like a lot of changes, but I'm sure they did minimal to the overall taste of the recipe as written. I will DEFINITELY be making this again and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I've made this in the slow cooker exactly like the recipe and it came out great the kids and husband loved it. Taste just like my mother use to make when I was small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States