Carne Guisada II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
This recipe has been a family staple for us for many years now. We love it! This Carne Guisada is fabulous and I'm making it tomorrow night for dinner and even my 7 year old loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I grew up in San Antonio and got hooked on Taco Cabana.. I fell in love with Carne Guisada soft taco's. I eat them once a year when I go visit, TILL NOW..this recipe ROCKS, I followed the directions to the letter (minus hot peppers) I used crock pot and cooked and simmered for 11 hours. I have never tasted any thing so good in my life that compared to real mexican food. THANKS SO MUCH..... now if can just get those Fajita's to taste the same as there's, I will be in good shape :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I made this recipe with minor modifications - I used 6 seeded jalapenos, and added 2 small diced potatoes for thickening instead of using the cornstarch. Also I prepared it in a pressure cooker (in less than an hour cookin time, the meat was falling-apart tender!). I thought it was quite tasty and will make it again. Next time, I will use only 1/2 the tomato paste (1/4 can), or possibly susbtitute tomato sauce instead. I thought that he amount of tomato paste listed added a strong tangy tomato taste that I would have liked to taste LESS. With that simple change, I think this recipe would warrant 5 PLUS stars. New info! I also tried dredging the meat in flour before browning and omitting cornstarch (and potato) and it thickened quite nicely. Hope this helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I also made this in the crockpot - the meat was fork tender after about 8 hours on Low. I added more garlic, and a tiny splash of lime juice. It didn't need thickening, so I omitted the cornstarch. I served this over plain white rice, topped with a blob of sour cream, and fresh snipped cilantro. Good stuff. Thanks, Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Sorry, but this is nasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I live in Texas and most of us know a good carne guisada when they see one. This is it! Wow- so delicious. I dredged my meat in seasoned flour, then browned in oil with chopped onions. I added the rest of the ingredients in the crock pot and cooked all day. Absolutely divine. Slice some fresh avocados and chopped tomatoes for a fresh accompaniment on your tacos. I also made it with corn/poblano white rice and with the richness of the gravy you really need a bland or mild rice to go along with it. If I could give this ten stars I would :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
THIS WAS DELICIOSO. I USUALLY DON'T COOK MEXICAN MEALS FOR MY FAMILY, BUT I HAD SOME BEEF STEW MEAT AND DIDN'T KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT. DECIDED TO GIVE IT A TRY AND THEY LOVED IT. DO RECOMMEND TO OTHERS TO TRY IT OUT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Wonderful recipe! Easy to adjust for those that dont like it to hot, or those that like it hotter.Easy to set up in a crock pot to cook all day, or over night. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Excellent and really a mexican dish! Good for tacos or any kind of dish with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELY C.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
Very good recipe! I had searched for something different to use some stew meat I had in the freezer. This was great. I will use the slow cooker next time. My kids (9 & 15) loved it too. We didn't have ANY leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States