Carne Guisada II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This was very good. I followed the recipe exactly when it came to the ingredients. I fried it up till brown in a cast iron pot, mixed everyting in the pot till boiling and then transfered it to a slow cooker. I cooked it on high for about 4 hours and then on low for about a little over an hour and then meat was falling apart. This was nothing like a stew to me. It didn't have enough broth to be a stew. It was how ever VERY tastey! We ate it with refried beans that we made and a mixed vegetable medoly I made with zucchini, corn, onions, tomatoes, cumin, garlic, oil, and a can of green chiles, dash of red wine vinegar and a swirl of honey cooked in a cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I wasn't really impressed with this. I expected it to have a mexican flavor, but it tasted a lot like chili to me... Maybe cause I'm from Tx? I doubt I'll make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Wonderful! My husband is Hispanic and he says that it was fantastic. He has eaten alot of Carne Guisada in his time. This recipe was much better than his family recipe. I followed it precisely, but I didn't have enough time to let it cook as long as the recipe calls for. I cooked it for 3.5 hours and it was VERY tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMATOGRAVY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Good but not great. Felt like it needed a punch of flavor. Never had carne guisada so don't know if it is authentic tasting. It was easy so I might try it again with some modifications. I served it as a tortilla filling. Cooked it in the crockpot after browning on stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was so good. Poured over rice, used heated leftovers in flour tortillas the next day, with green onions, sour cream with cheese. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
WOW! I used 3 lb chuck roast and doubled the ingredients. I did quickly brown the roast first (about 3 mins on each side)before placing it in the crockpot on LOW. After 6 hours, I shredded meat and continued cooking for another 2 hours. The flavor is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I made this recipe with minor modifications - I used 6 seeded jalapenos, and added 2 small diced potatoes for thickening instead of using the cornstarch. Also I prepared it in a pressure cooker (in less than an hour cookin time, the meat was falling-apart tender!). I thought it was quite tasty and will make it again. Next time, I will use only 1/2 the tomato paste (1/4 can), or possibly susbtitute tomato sauce instead. I thought that he amount of tomato paste listed added a strong tangy tomato taste that I would have liked to taste LESS. With that simple change, I think this recipe would warrant 5 PLUS stars. New info! I also tried dredging the meat in flour before browning and omitting cornstarch (and potato) and it thickened quite nicely. Hope this helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Very good. I did substitute garlic powder for the fresh garlic and red pepper flakes for the chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I also made this in the crockpot - the meat was fork tender after about 8 hours on Low. I added more garlic, and a tiny splash of lime juice. It didn't need thickening, so I omitted the cornstarch. I served this over plain white rice, topped with a blob of sour cream, and fresh snipped cilantro. Good stuff. Thanks, Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Easy and great tasting. My husband likes it super hot but you can adjust it to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States