Carne Guisada II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was amazing! I served it with queso fresco. It was a hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
The meat was extremely tender but I thought it was kind of bland. I added a lot of adobo to it to give it a little flavor. It tasted great with the rice so I'll definitely make it again and add more spices!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I made this in the crockpot, followed the recipe exactly, but didn't need to thicken it before serving. It was excellent. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Excellent! The only changes I made were to saute an onion with the rest of the ingredients and to put the pot in a 325F oven after the ingredients were browned and came to a boil on the stovetop. I cooked it covered for most of the day and my gravy was perfect, didn't need thickening at all. I cut my meat into chunks that were a bit too large, the meat was dry where there wasn't sauce (but that's the meat not the recipe!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was good, but didn't give me as much sauce or juice as I thought it would. The meat was tender and shredded well but all the liquid cooked down to almost nothing at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
My whole family loves this recipe as does everyone I've ever made it for. I've made it on the stove and all day in the crock pot - either way is great. We always serve it with a big batch of homemade beans and rice plus warm tortillas. Thanks so much for sharing this fabulous recipe that's become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I wish that I could give this recipe a 4 and 1/2 because it was very good. The taste was extremely close to the carne guisada that my uncle's mom from mexico makes. I did substitute some stuff for what I have on hand; I used pork instead of beef and threw in a bell pepper cause thats all I had. I also put it in a crock pot on high for about 6 hrs and the meat just falls apart. It is great shredded in a taco or served over rice with a bit of the gravy. I also didn't need to add any cornstarch because the gravy was thick enough w/out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I told another teacher I work with that I made Carne Guisada and that I liked it but it took too long to cook. She laughed when I told her I cooked it for 8 hours and that I was supposed to cook it for 12. Her heritage is hispanic and she said, "It's just stew meat. You can cook it in less than 3...if that". So now I get jokes about my day-long Carne Guisada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Excellent dish. Great hearty fall/winter recipe! I served the meat with "Best Spanish Rice" recipe from this site, refried beans and corn tortillas. As one dinner guest put it, "My tummy is screaming with delight!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I grew up in San Antonio and got hooked on Taco Cabana.. I fell in love with Carne Guisada soft taco's. I eat them once a year when I go visit, TILL NOW..this recipe ROCKS, I followed the directions to the letter (minus hot peppers) I used crock pot and cooked and simmered for 11 hours. I have never tasted any thing so good in my life that compared to real mexican food. THANKS SO MUCH..... now if can just get those Fajita's to taste the same as there's, I will be in good shape :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States