Carne Guisada II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
this recipe was great. My husband is actually from Mexico and he loved it and said it almost tastes like Birria.. Made me happy! It was soo yummy...everyone should try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I don't have a crock-pot and just used the stove turned to low. Mine was done after about 2 1/2 to 3 hours. There is no need to cook this on the stove for 8 to 12 hours. Served buritto still with rice, beans, sour cream, cheese, and tomatoes. It was delicious and so easy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was VERY good! I added diced potatos to this about 20 minutes before it was done. Hubby ate so much his tummy hurt,lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyewacket

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was amazing! I served it with queso fresco. It was a hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
The meat was extremely tender but I thought it was kind of bland. I added a lot of adobo to it to give it a little flavor. It tasted great with the rice so I'll definitely make it again and add more spices!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I made this in the crockpot, followed the recipe exactly, but didn't need to thicken it before serving. It was excellent. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Excellent! The only changes I made were to saute an onion with the rest of the ingredients and to put the pot in a 325F oven after the ingredients were browned and came to a boil on the stovetop. I cooked it covered for most of the day and my gravy was perfect, didn't need thickening at all. I cut my meat into chunks that were a bit too large, the meat was dry where there wasn't sauce (but that's the meat not the recipe!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was good, but didn't give me as much sauce or juice as I thought it would. The meat was tender and shredded well but all the liquid cooked down to almost nothing at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
My whole family loves this recipe as does everyone I've ever made it for. I've made it on the stove and all day in the crock pot - either way is great. We always serve it with a big batch of homemade beans and rice plus warm tortillas. Thanks so much for sharing this fabulous recipe that's become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I wish that I could give this recipe a 4 and 1/2 because it was very good. The taste was extremely close to the carne guisada that my uncle's mom from mexico makes. I did substitute some stuff for what I have on hand; I used pork instead of beef and threw in a bell pepper cause thats all I had. I also put it in a crock pot on high for about 6 hrs and the meat just falls apart. It is great shredded in a taco or served over rice with a bit of the gravy. I also didn't need to add any cornstarch because the gravy was thick enough w/out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States