Carne Guisada II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Very good and easy. Throw it all in a crock and it's done. Add a flour/water paste instead of corn starch was the only change I made. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I don't know what this is, but it tastes nothing like carne guisada. I grew up 2 miles from the border of Mexico. I followed the recipe to a tee. Not only does this taste nothing like Taco Cabana's, it taste nothing like carne guisada. I could search the net for hamburger and come up with something closer. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This was not was I expected. Brought it to a party and brought home 90% of it. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Delicious! I seared the meat on the stovetop to add some flavor to the end product. Then i put everything in a slow cooker and let it cook all day. The meat basically shredded itself and was awesome!. I did not any water to the recipe and there was also no need (for me) to thicken in the end. Without the water and a long enough cooking time....it thickens very nicely on its own. Served it with fresh cilantro and a sqeeze of lime juice over mexican rice. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
My whole family loved it....I used pickled serrano peppers & used flour to thicken cause I didnt have any corn starch...my husband asked me to make burritos out of the left overs for his lunch tomorrow...very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
LOVED this recipe. The meat was soo tender. I made it for a work lunch and everyone raved on and on.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I doubled this recipe. After I got home from the store, I realized I only had 1 can of beef broth, so I added a package of Beefy Onion Soup Mix. My husband loved this meal! He said it tasted very authentic. I have shared this recipe with friends and family, as well. This will be something that I make more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
EXCELLENT!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I just threw everything into the slow cooker and let it torment us all day with the smell! I made with regular jalapenos, cooked some Mexican rice and fat free refried beans. Put everything in a whole wheat tortilla and had one yummy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I put mine i the slow cooker and added extra spices and chiles! And it was great. I like spicy foods, but it was still good before i added the extras
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States