Carne Guisada II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was waaay too easy, but good. Could have added another 1 or 2 serrano peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
We liked this a lot. I made this in the slow cooker and we had it over mashed potatoes. It definitely had a stew-like consistency and had some heat to it from the peppers (but not too much heat!). Next time I may add some vegetables to it, like carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I was surprised how much we liked this. I'm not a big beef eater so I don't try too many new things with it but I'm so glad I tried this. I didn't simmer it nearly as long as stated but it was still tender and thickened up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Easy to make, just need to keep an eye on it and top it off with water from time to time. I used only 3 tbsp of tomato paste. Didn't need to add the cornstarch and I shredded the beef. Made a great filling for soft tacos. Will be making this again and will probably double the recipe the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Loved it! I served it over rice, but the boys thought next time mashed potatoes would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
YUM! great basic recipe that is easily modifiable. i made it using the slow cooker. i also dredged in flour and browned before adding to the slow cooker. i also threw in a bunch of veggies (potatoes, bell pepper, onion, carrots) and used both canned tomatoes and tomato paste. instead of beef broth i decreased the water (in lieu of the canned tomatoes being high in water content) and added a beef boullion cube. i also used one serrano and one jalapeno for added flavor dimension. no cornstarch needed -- the flour and potatoes thickened the sauce beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Love it! Great in tortillas and over brown rice - I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very good & different way to use cubed beef. Fairly spicy, but, that was okay. Served over rice or potatoes. I liked the potatoes better. Served corn on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This is now my favorite way to cook stewing beef. I doubled the recipe, and followed the recipe, except that I used one can of tomato paste and one can of crushed tomatoes. I also dredged the beef in flour and browned it before putting it in the slow cooker. It's also a good idea to use whole spices ground with a mortar and pestle when using the slow cooker, because the flavor of powdered seasonings gets lost after several hours of cooking. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Great recipe with very little needed to change! Doubled the meat and the spices , tossed the meat with a bit of flour before browning but since I put it in the crockpot, kept the liquid (broth and water) about the same. Cooked for 8 hours on low in the crock pot and it was falling apart. Fantastic flavor but if you want a bit more heat, you might want to add a few chipotle's or cayenne as even with 2 serranos and 2 jalepenos, was pretty mild. Still SO worth making again! Served with tortillas, avocados and cheese. WONDERFUL flavor without a grill!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States