Carne Guisada II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Being from south Texas I have been looking for this! Cooked meat in crockpot, took the meat out of the crockpot, then made the gravy with juices in crockpot, and returned the meat. Drained a lot of the fat off. Made lots of subs, but still tasted great! Used cilantro bullion, pace picante sauce instead of tomato, added about 2 teasp cumin, chili powder, and 1teasp of onion powder. Simmered gravy in crockpot on high for about 1 hour while meat rested. Then shredded meat and returned to gravy. Will definately make again. Thank you for making this easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I didn't have any tomato paste so I used a cup of spaghetti sauce and it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I have had this twice now and it has become a staple in my house!! I didn't bother browning the meat first, I just tossed it into the crock pot with all the other ingredients and let it cook on medium for 8hrs... it was fall apart tender... PERFECTION! I also threw in some sliced green bell pepper and yellow onion in the last hour of cooking. I served it over mashed potatoes and let me tell you.... it is AMAZING!!! Thank you for sharing this recipe! My family loves it and they are TOUGH critics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is an excellent and delicious recipe! I omit the cornstarch and brown the meat, add flour to thicken. I usually use what I have on hand. Today I'm trying it with fresh tomatos and jalapenos instead of serrano peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was just ok for us. I made exactly as the recipe stated with the addition of some onion. Both my husband and I thought it tasted like it lacked something in the flavor. Not exactly sure what it needs, but, I may experiment with some different seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe and really reminded me of home. This is a great crock pot recipe I simmered mine for 8-12 hrs in the crock pot and it was superb.. I have to say it makes me home sick. I had to use crushed red peppers instead of Serrano because of the poor selection of peppers here. But it was good over rice and my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbizz13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
So good. I made it more like a stew and added potatoes, red peppers and some garlic. Love the kick it has but it's not too much and the meat alone would be awesome in a sandwich or tortilla - definitely will make again. I only did 6.5 hours and the meat was wonderfully tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
It was OK, something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was waaay too easy, but good. Could have added another 1 or 2 serrano peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
We liked this a lot. I made this in the slow cooker and we had it over mashed potatoes. It definitely had a stew-like consistency and had some heat to it from the peppers (but not too much heat!). Next time I may add some vegetables to it, like carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States