Carne Guisada II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Search for stew meat recipes were on again! And we have a winner!!! I cooked mine in a slow cooker for 6 1/2 hours on low but only after I dredged the meat in seasoned flour (flour, garlic powder, salt & pepper) and browned it to give it a crust. I then followed everything else as stated. Served it over jasmine rice, with shredded lettuce. tomato, cilantro. green onion & reduced fat Mexican cheese blend & corn tortillas. It was a hit! The meat was so wonderfully tender and flavorful! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I love it but I put green & red bell pepper & used jalapenos instead of serranos & put onoin in it. It was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie Le Pere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Husband said "Now that is the way Carne Guisada should taste." Need I saw more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lorena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I think I really messed up on this one. Made it in the slow cooker, but instead of Serrano chiles, I used a whole can of chipotles in adobo sauce. The meat. was super-tender, but it was so spicy we had to drown it in sour cream and smother it with cheese. The flavor was good, once you got around the spiciness of chipotle overkill. Not Bao's fault; my fault. Served with the Sweet Corn Tomalito on this site. Would make again, with major retooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Killer Killer Killer Stuff! I don't get lower ratings - I thought (change that to *we*) this stuff just rocked. Made exctly as directed with exception of scaling back a bit on tomato paste by about a heaping tablespoon or so and didn't need to use cornstarch to thicken. We served with refried beans, lotsa cheese, a small green salad, and fresh corn tortillas to scoop it up with. Yum! Oh -one more side note: I didn't use crockpot - just seared beef, then pretty much braised on stovetop for 3 or 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Very good. I followed the directions exactly, cooked it in a slow cooker and threw in 1C of water and 3/4C of orzo for the last 30mins. Hearty and yummy. May look at adding vegis or something else to this next time, but good as-is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Really tasty. I even tweaked it a bit. Becasue we like everything hotter/spicier..I added 5 peppers. I used 2lbs of stew meat and the whole can of tomato paste and a can and a half of broth. Cooked in crockpot for 8 hrs after browning stew meat. It was really tasty. But I would stick w/ the 1 lb recipe...doubling it made too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was pretty good and easy. I didn't need to cook it for the 8-12 hours stated in the recipe. Mine probably cooked 3 hours and was tender. I forgot to put the beef broth in- it was sitting on the counter and couldn't figure out why the liquid evaporated so fast and ended up adding 2 cups of water and the rest of the paste. I started without the lid on and after the liquid evaporated so quickly I put the lid on and simmered the rest of the time with the lid on. No need for the corn starch as mine thickened up without it. This was actually good without the water can not wait to see what it taste like next time with the broth. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
So many great reviews, but I was disappointed. It just didn't do it for me. I was debating whether or not to only give it one star, but I think I'll reserve that for completely inedible dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Delicious! I added a can of rotel and used jalepenos because I didn't have serranos. I also added some paprika to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States