Carne Guisada II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Killer Killer Killer Stuff! I don't get lower ratings - I thought (change that to *we*) this stuff just rocked. Made exctly as directed with exception of scaling back a bit on tomato paste by about a heaping tablespoon or so and didn't need to use cornstarch to thicken. We served with refried beans, lotsa cheese, a small green salad, and fresh corn tortillas to scoop it up with. Yum! Oh -one more side note: I didn't use crockpot - just seared beef, then pretty much braised on stovetop for 3 or 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Very good. I followed the directions exactly, cooked it in a slow cooker and threw in 1C of water and 3/4C of orzo for the last 30mins. Hearty and yummy. May look at adding vegis or something else to this next time, but good as-is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Really tasty. I even tweaked it a bit. Becasue we like everything hotter/spicier..I added 5 peppers. I used 2lbs of stew meat and the whole can of tomato paste and a can and a half of broth. Cooked in crockpot for 8 hrs after browning stew meat. It was really tasty. But I would stick w/ the 1 lb recipe...doubling it made too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was pretty good and easy. I didn't need to cook it for the 8-12 hours stated in the recipe. Mine probably cooked 3 hours and was tender. I forgot to put the beef broth in- it was sitting on the counter and couldn't figure out why the liquid evaporated so fast and ended up adding 2 cups of water and the rest of the paste. I started without the lid on and after the liquid evaporated so quickly I put the lid on and simmered the rest of the time with the lid on. No need for the corn starch as mine thickened up without it. This was actually good without the water can not wait to see what it taste like next time with the broth. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
So many great reviews, but I was disappointed. It just didn't do it for me. I was debating whether or not to only give it one star, but I think I'll reserve that for completely inedible dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Delicious! I added a can of rotel and used jalepenos because I didn't have serranos. I also added some paprika to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I live in Texas and most of us know a good carne guisada when they see one. This is it! Wow- so delicious. I dredged my meat in seasoned flour, then browned in oil with chopped onions. I added the rest of the ingredients in the crock pot and cooked all day. Absolutely divine. Slice some fresh avocados and chopped tomatoes for a fresh accompaniment on your tacos. I also made it with corn/poblano white rice and with the richness of the gravy you really need a bland or mild rice to go along with it. If I could give this ten stars I would :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
not bad, but not great either. While I liked it ok, my husband did not at all. I was looking for a bit darker color, but it turned out bright red.. basically like condensed tomato paste.. most probably won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This recipe was Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States