Carne Guisada II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Very good. I did substitute garlic powder for the fresh garlic and red pepper flakes for the chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I also made this in the crockpot - the meat was fork tender after about 8 hours on Low. I added more garlic, and a tiny splash of lime juice. It didn't need thickening, so I omitted the cornstarch. I served this over plain white rice, topped with a blob of sour cream, and fresh snipped cilantro. Good stuff. Thanks, Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Easy and great tasting. My husband likes it super hot but you can adjust it to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Loved it!! Made the whole house smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Tahoe, California, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Loved it! I brought this to lunch and all of my co-workers thought it looked so tasty that they were asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I made this for my entire family and they all loved it. I didn't have a lot of time so I only simmered the meat for three hours but it was still very tender. I added stewed tomatoes and potatoes to my stew. It was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Cooked mine in the crockpot and used canned green chiles as that was what I had on hand. I wasn't crazy about it after tasting it, so I ended up shredding the meat and filling tortillas with it, a little of the sauce and a little shredded mexican cheese. Rolled them and put them in a baking dish and covered with taco sauce and a little more shredded cheese. My kids loved them, but I still thought the filling was a little bland. I'm sure it's probably because I didn't use the right kind of peppers. My kids definitely asked that I make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
THIS WAS DELICIOSO. I USUALLY DON'T COOK MEXICAN MEALS FOR MY FAMILY, BUT I HAD SOME BEEF STEW MEAT AND DIDN'T KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT. DECIDED TO GIVE IT A TRY AND THEY LOVED IT. DO RECOMMEND TO OTHERS TO TRY IT OUT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I love this recipe! Very authentic mexican carne guisada - at least the part of mexico I live in. I brown the meat in a skillet and then place in a slow cooker as others have suggested. The meat is so tender and tasty. Must serve with mexican rice and tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This hit the spot. I doubled the recipe and served it over mashed potatoes. I didn't add any additional salt though, and I used jalepenos instead of serrano peppers. I added some sliced sweet onion and cooked everything in the crock pot for around 11 hours, so I skipped the oil and the browning. The leftover gravy I plan on using over hamburger and either egg noodles or more mashed potatoes tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States