Carne Guisada II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was a great recipe , flavorful and easy! I decreased my simmer time to 6 hours and it was still tender and delicious!! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Loved this recipe! Made my house smell amazing. I cooked it in my dutch oven at 300° for about 4 hours. Perfectly tender and delicious. The only thing I did differently was to add onions after browning the beef. Lots of leftovers for the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great San Antonio Style Guisada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is a good recipe. I was born and raised in San Antonio, and this is right up there with the best. I used less tomato paste, and left out the peppers. The key is the long cooking time, to get the meat tender..nothing worse than tough Carne Guisada! Also glad to see someone besides me using cornstarch vs. Flour! Highly recommend you give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I lived in Victoria, Texas for a bit, and this is a warm reminder of the food I miss. Great and easy Texas themed food! This was great with rice. My girlfriend stole the left overs, and brought back empty containers from work... I omitted the cumin(I didn't have any-I do now), and browned the meat after flouring in corn starch in a skillet. Pour this over shredded cheese and rice. Awesome comfort food when it gets cold in Chicago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Excellent! I think I might add bell pepper next time. I allowed it to cook just over 8 hours, great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
So good! Never knew I could make such good Mexican food. I did add onion. It was quite tender and flavorful with 3 hours cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Not so great. Please don't serve white rice with this meal. You are suppose to have Spanish rice and refried beans or ranchero bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was ok, but nothing special. I'll probably try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I did not like the tomato paste in it. After three hours of cooking, I couldn't stand the smell anymore so I dumped most of the sauce and added more broth back in and substituted sofrito instead. I will make this recipe again but use sofrito instead of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States