Carne Guisada II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I lived in Victoria, Texas for a bit, and this is a warm reminder of the food I miss. Great and easy Texas themed food! This was great with rice. My girlfriend stole the left overs, and brought back empty containers from work... I omitted the cumin(I didn't have any-I do now), and browned the meat after flouring in corn starch in a skillet. Pour this over shredded cheese and rice. Awesome comfort food when it gets cold in Chicago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Excellent! I think I might add bell pepper next time. I allowed it to cook just over 8 hours, great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
So good! Never knew I could make such good Mexican food. I did add onion. It was quite tender and flavorful with 3 hours cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Not so great. Please don't serve white rice with this meal. You are suppose to have Spanish rice and refried beans or ranchero bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was ok, but nothing special. I'll probably try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I did not like the tomato paste in it. After three hours of cooking, I couldn't stand the smell anymore so I dumped most of the sauce and added more broth back in and substituted sofrito instead. I will make this recipe again but use sofrito instead of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Search for stew meat recipes were on again! And we have a winner!!! I cooked mine in a slow cooker for 6 1/2 hours on low but only after I dredged the meat in seasoned flour (flour, garlic powder, salt & pepper) and browned it to give it a crust. I then followed everything else as stated. Served it over jasmine rice, with shredded lettuce. tomato, cilantro. green onion & reduced fat Mexican cheese blend & corn tortillas. It was a hit! The meat was so wonderfully tender and flavorful! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I love it but I put green & red bell pepper & used jalapenos instead of serranos & put onoin in it. It was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie (Duchess)

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Husband said "Now that is the way Carne Guisada should taste." Need I saw more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lorena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I think I really messed up on this one. Made it in the slow cooker, but instead of Serrano chiles, I used a whole can of chipotles in adobo sauce. The meat. was super-tender, but it was so spicy we had to drown it in sour cream and smother it with cheese. The flavor was good, once you got around the spiciness of chipotle overkill. Not Bao's fault; my fault. Served with the Sweet Corn Tomalito on this site. Would make again, with major retooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States