Carne Guisada I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
OK - this was delicious and easy! I didn't seem to have much gravy but that was fine because it would've been too soupy to put in our corn tortillas. I simmered for more like 3 or 4 hours though because at 1 hour the meat was still tough. I also didn't put in the fresh tomatoes - I put them over the finished product with a little sour cream. Great dish - will be making again. Maybe I'll try it in the crockpot next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Very good! I served it with flour tortillas, sour cream, and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I used this recipe as a starting point. Used about 3lbs of wild pork instead of beef, 2 1/2 tsps cumin, 1 tsp chili powder, and a can of Rotel tomatoes & chilis instead of the fresh tomatoes. It was awesome! Note: If you omit the cumin, it AIN'T Carne Guisada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This stew is average at best. It's hearty and tastes well enough, but it's not something I'd go out of my way to make again. To be better I think it needs more herbs and spices - though that may take the "mexicanity" out of it. I'd add some oregano, paprika, more garlic (or garlic powder), maybe a pinch of sugar and bay leaves. As it is, I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This is a Really good recipe! I let it simmer for about an hour and a half. But, I'm sure just an hour would be ok : ) my husband and 8 year old really like it when I make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
IT was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
Mmmm, Mmmmm Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
A true tex-mex recipe If you know what carne guisada is then this is the real mcoy if you don't know this is the way to find out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2001
Served over rice,omitted cumin and fresh tomatoes. Tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
I used 3 tsp. of ground cumin and 2 x-large or 3 small garlic cloves, minced. Plus I added 1 tsp garlic powder. Also, 1 Green Pablano Chile instead of 2 jalapenos makes this recipe child friendly. I love this recipe though! Thanks Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States