Carne Guisada I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This was just eh.. After all the rave reviews I expected more. I make mexican dished quite often, and am not sure what would have helped this dish. I'm sure there are better ones out there. I did have to simmer it for about 6 hours in the crockpot for the meat to be tender. Also added a habanero for some extra heat. Don't think I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I made this recipe last night with some changes that were suggested. I will make this again. I didn't add any water, and I used two cans of tomatoes (one cilantro,and lime seasoned). I didn't use any fresh tomatoes. I did add 1/2 pkg. of taco seasoning, which I might add the whole thing next time. I also used olive oil instead of shortening. We served them with shredded cheese, and flour tortillas, which was very good. I forgot to buy lettuce, which I would do next time, along with black olives and maybe some fresh tomatoes. This would be very good with pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This was like a Mexican Hungarian goulash. Mmm. I served it over rice. To get the stew meat tender, I simmered it on the stove for at least an hour, and then cooked it on low in the crockpot for 4-5 hours. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
My husband really enjoyed this and I think it was even better the next day as leftovers. I too added chopped bell pepper rather than the second tomato and let it simmer for almost two hours. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Yes, this was unlike any other Carne Guisada I had ever had. Much more tomatoey. But what ever you call it, it is absolutely delicious. I will cook it over and over again. I served it with flour tortillas and it was a huge hit with my family. You must like tomaotes! I omited the shortening and just used Pam cooking spray. After living in South Texas for many years this was a refreshing version of Carne Guisada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I was not real impressed with this dish. I was born and raised in Texas and this is not like any carne guisada I've ever had! I think the recipe calls for too many tomatoes. It was edible, but that's about all I can say about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
YUM!!! We omitted the fresh tomatoes, and added a bell pepper to this recipe. We served over rice and in tortillas with guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirelle James Edghill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
this was good combination, the jalepenos really bring out the flavor of the taco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
my whole family really enjoyed this, I cooked it in the pan like it said and then threw it all together in my crock pot and went Christmas shopping and after a long day we came home to the wonderful aroma and all we had to do was fix our plates. How wonderful was that??? only downfall was it wasn't as spicy as I woudl have liked so next time I will add an extra jalepeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
A great recipe. i had to add 3 more cloves of garlic and a whole teaspoon of cumin. Took more like 2 hours for the meat to be really tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States