Carne Guisada I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this yesterday, and it was really good, I just had to cook it for 2 hrs, but it was really good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yolieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Really good but a little too much tomato. I also added chicken tomato bouillon for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This turned out good but too tomatoey for my tastes. I thought it was bland but my husband and the guys at his work loved it. I used diced jalapeno from a jar (2 spoons full) and simmered this for about 4 hours. I doubled the comino because I wasn't paying attention, but it turned out fine. Not my favorite recipe for Carne Guisada, but it was okay. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Sorry, but I can only give this 3 stars. I followed the recipe with only 1 small change, using a can of diced tomatoes with chipotles instead of stewed tomatoes. Even adding the chipotles, this was way too mild on the heat scale. But my main complaint was the overwhelming tomato flavor. A can of tomatoes, plus 2 chopped tomatoes (and I only used 2 med roma's) overpowered the dish. I will keep looking for my go-to carne guisada recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Very quick...very easy...and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This recipe was so good.I will be making it again and maybe next time I'll only put in half a jalapeno for the kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was a wonderfully easy and tasty recipe. Just the dish I was looking for! Since I didn't have on hand all the seasonings listed I instead used a couple of tablespoons of Mrs. Dash Extra Spicy Seasoning Blend. It turned out just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I have added this to my weekly menu and my wholefamily loves it. The meat turns out so tender and flavorful, even my boys love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Great Mexican-inspired everyday dish. I used olive oil instead of shortning and only one chili - my Mother really isn't that big fan of the hot and spicy. It has an excellent taste and texture - and a definite plus - Carne Guisada I is SO easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taasinge, Syddanmark, Denmark
Living In: Nuuk, Kitaa, Greenland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Very Good! Cooked on stovetop for about 2 hours on medium heat & turned out more tender than I expected. To me, the jalapenos didn't seem to add much heat. I think the red pepper flakes sound like a good idea. The boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States