Carne Guisada I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I used canned chipotle peppers in sauce instead of the fresh jalepenos. It was spicy, but the family loved it! We ate it with rice and beans on tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Quick easy meal! Love recipes where I can pretty much throw it all together and let it simmer until the family comes home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Designer Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Yummy. I added a little more cumin and a extra tomato cause I needed to use it before it went bad. Had a good flavor. I mead refried beans and spanish rice to go with it and we used it as burrito filling, but think it would be good just over some rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
My husband and I liked this a lot. I used a little bit of tomato sauce as well as chopped tomatoes. And I also let it simmer for about 2.5 hours and the meat was very tender. It was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Nahh, this ain't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
One of my favorite recipes....I make this as printed and we all love it. Delicious.......updated! I just made this again and I used the can of rotel tomatoes instead of the fresh ones and I also added Chili powder and a tad bit extra cumin. I also cut up the stewed tomatoes. Thanks for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was so awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I've had this dish served in Texas in many places known for Carne Guisada and this recipe doesn't even resemble it. I followed the directions to the letter, but was tough and the dish on the whole was bland and runny. I tried to thicken it up some with arrowroot and water but that just made it slimy. I hate to say it, but look elsewhere for a passable version of this dish; I know I shall. You just cannot get slow-cooked/braised tenderness in 30-60 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAmEm2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Wasn't what I was looking for. A little too tomatoey for me. I didn't see a "gravy" form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this yesterday, and it was really good, I just had to cook it for 2 hrs, but it was really good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yolieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States