Carne Con Papas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
The best carne con papa recipe EVER! (Coming from someone that's Cuban)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Pressure cooker is the way to go. Next time I will use less water. Very delicious over white rice with strips of red peppers on the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This is the only recipe I use for carne con papas. My family absolutely loves it. I fry up some tostones and serve it over white rice. Yum!!! Thanks so much for making something that seems so difficult to make so easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I'm in the process of making this recipe right now, and so far, I'm really liking it! I don't have a pressure cooker, so have it cooking on the stove. The blended bell pepper and onion mixture was awesome! I'll definitely use it in other recipes. I couldn't find Achiote powder, but did find dried Achiote in the same section of the grocery store that I find dried corn husks and other El Guapo products. I took the dried Achiote and ground it in my spice grinder. So, now it's all simmering on the stove. I haven't added the potatoes yet but will add them during the last 1/2 hour or so. I'll be adding 4 instead of 2. I've tasted the sauce, and it's amazing! I'm sure when it's done it will be an awesome dish, and I will make it again. Is this dish typically served on rice? I don't think I will be doing that, but am curious about that. I'll be serving it with some nice crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
very delicious! I am hispanic so this dish is a staple in our culture. It was my first time making it and I followed the recipe, except I did not have the bouillons, but it still tasted delicious. I will definitely be making this again and next time add the bouillons and see how that goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This meal was great! I used a stock pot as I didn't have a pressure cooker and simmered for 1 hr 45 min. The beef was so tender and so flavorful! I added some alcaparrado (olives) to the mixture and made flavored rice with sofrito and beans. It was excellent, I am an a picky picky eater. My Puerto Rican husband also loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piikaboo2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pkate190
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I have tired other recipes for Carne con papas but it always seemed to be missing a little some but not this recipe! This recipe had all the right ingredients. I cooked it last night for my family and they LOVED it!! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pkate190

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Growing up my mom made this recipe as well. She also blended the pepper, onion, and garlic. The only difference is that she used paprika, olives, capers instead of cumin and achiote
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This recipe was tasty, but it came out like soup and I had to simmer it for an additional 60 minutes to get it to more of a meat and sauce kind of consistency. Unfortunately, by that time, the meat was more of a thickening agent than a recognizable component.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This dish was good, if a little too tomato-ey. I would substitute a fresh tomato, and fresh beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaHadley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Shores, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States