Carne Con Chilies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
My whole family loved this recipe, including picky teenager! I left out the red hot peppers, so the "heat" was adjustable for everyone's taste by adding their own red pepper flakes. Next time I will try doubling the sauce recipe because it was good ladled over rice/black beans with cheese on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
WOW, This is a great recipe. I've made it twice, once for my boyfriend, and once for a dinner party. Everyone loved it, and I'm in southern New Mexico which means we know our mexican food. A native mexican from Sonora raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
My family absolutely loved this, I wouldn't change a thing. I used canned tomatillos and tomatoes as that's what I had on hand. The sauce is very versatile and it would be a great topping for smothered burritos. 4/25/06- I had to edit the review to add that I made the sauce and poured over boneless pork chops in a slow cooker for 8 hours on low, then shredded the meat and served as tacos...AWESOME! Family loves the recipe both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
Fast and easy, a delicious meal. I added one large green bell pepper, in slices, to the pan to simmer with the meat and sauce and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
This is just such an excellent recipe. I had some leftover smoked pork shoulder that I used insead of the pork chops and, being a homesick Texan, I had to add a couple more serranos and a handful of fresh cilantro, but that was. You must try this recipe. Thank you so much Chriszee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wainy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
We tried this and thought is was awesome. My husband and I love spicy food and we ate this up. I followed another reviewers comment and didn't precook the sauce, mine also turned out fine. I also only used 1 1/2 dried chilis and that was plenty. We served it in flour tortillas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I have been using a recipe almost identical to this one for 25 years ! I put a pork roast into my crock pot and add the sauce( without cooking first) and cook on low until the roast is tender but not falling apart. Add some cilantro-cook 15 min. more. Serve as a burrito filling, etc. Also excellent with scrambled eggs! I use fewer chilis, but I'm a wimp! First class recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This is a great recipe. I served it in tortillas. The only down-side to this recipe is having to handle the sticky tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
My husband and I loved this recipe. Very easy to do and I followed recipe exactly. Taste great.. since we love super spicy food. Thanks Chriszee777!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Very good. Perhaps the easiest Mexican Dish you will ever make. I grill the pork first to give a little charcoal flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States