Carne Con Chilies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was a super easy recipe and the spicy fans in this house loved it. Just remember to minimize touching the peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
My husband & son loved this dish. Had a nice flavor, but I probably wont fix again unless they ask for it. If you like tomatillos, then you will love this recipe. Too green tasting for me. Thanks anyway...........Have a great day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This was good, but I think would be better done in the crockpot so the meat is more tender. The sauce is excellent and has the perfect amount of spice. Will definitely be making this again. I might try with beef and use for taco filling. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Fantastic and authentic! Since my honey likes 'build your own taco' style I cubed the meat - I also added just a touch of water to the veggies at first and then drained it off later to keep them from burning, they then cooked perfectly. We LOVED it! I used Cisneros tomatillos which are HUGE and even with that variable it still turned out excellent. I served the pork w/help yourself condiments of chopped green onion, chopped tomato, guacamole, cilantro & jack and cheddar cheeses.We will have this one often, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Not horrible, but not great either. Much sweeter than i expected and i thought there would be more sauce to serve over rice. Husband said it would be ok in a tortilla, but i have better meat marinades for that purpose. I did not have to throw it away, but i wont make again. The only change I made was to use a can of mexican spiced tomatos instead of a freash one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABEACH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Outstanding! The only change I made was to use a small can of sliced mild jalapenos, and a shake of red pepper flakes (I can't bring myself to prepare fresh chiles since I got chile juice in my eye a few years ago). The tomatillo sauce, though amazingly delicious, was still a little too spicy for me but Husband thought it was just right. I'm going to make this again but with strips of chicken breast. Fantastic recipe! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Very good. Perhaps the easiest Mexican Dish you will ever make. I grill the pork first to give a little charcoal flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Very good, pretty easy, and quick. The pork was still a little tough. It would be better if it were cooked longer. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh, more garlic powder, and some onion flakes. Also, I used vegetable oil instead of the pork fat, which was easier and did not seem to change the taste. I used 3 chipotles and no fresh jalepenos, which resulted in hot lips and warm mouths, but no fire breath. Served it with refried beans, rice and warm flour tortillas plus toppings (sour cream, onions, etc.). My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
My husband and I loved this recipe. Very easy to do and I followed recipe exactly. Taste great.. since we love super spicy food. Thanks Chriszee777!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States