Carne Con Chilies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I have been using a recipe almost identical to this one for 25 years ! I put a pork roast into my crock pot and add the sauce( without cooking first) and cook on low until the roast is tender but not falling apart. Add some cilantro-cook 15 min. more. Serve as a burrito filling, etc. Also excellent with scrambled eggs! I use fewer chilis, but I'm a wimp! First class recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
My family absolutely loved this, I wouldn't change a thing. I used canned tomatillos and tomatoes as that's what I had on hand. The sauce is very versatile and it would be a great topping for smothered burritos. 4/25/06- I had to edit the review to add that I made the sauce and poured over boneless pork chops in a slow cooker for 8 hours on low, then shredded the meat and served as tacos...AWESOME! Family loves the recipe both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Pretty good. A little sweet for my tastes. Instead of cooking it in 2 separate pans, I cooked the pork in a cast iron skillet, removed it when done, and added the ingredients for the sauce to the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I put six pork chops in a slow cooker with the sauce and cooked for about six hours. The meat just fell apart and became a wonderful filler for tortillas. For the sauce I used one can of tomatillas, one jar of salsa verde, and one can of diced tomatoes as the base. Now a favorite in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This was good, but I think would be better done in the crockpot so the meat is more tender. The sauce is excellent and has the perfect amount of spice. Will definitely be making this again. I might try with beef and use for taco filling. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Very good, pretty easy, and quick. The pork was still a little tough. It would be better if it were cooked longer. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh, more garlic powder, and some onion flakes. Also, I used vegetable oil instead of the pork fat, which was easier and did not seem to change the taste. I used 3 chipotles and no fresh jalepenos, which resulted in hot lips and warm mouths, but no fire breath. Served it with refried beans, rice and warm flour tortillas plus toppings (sour cream, onions, etc.). My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Outstanding! The only change I made was to use a small can of sliced mild jalapenos, and a shake of red pepper flakes (I can't bring myself to prepare fresh chiles since I got chile juice in my eye a few years ago). The tomatillo sauce, though amazingly delicious, was still a little too spicy for me but Husband thought it was just right. I'm going to make this again but with strips of chicken breast. Fantastic recipe! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I am giving this recipe 5 stars because I read the reviews and actually made this with a bit of trepidation. I wasn't sure what to expect. I used tomatillos and jalapenos from my garden, but when I went to go get a tomato, it just wasn't quite ripe enough, so I used part of a can of diced, fire roasted tomatoes instead. I also threw in a tiny orange pepper that I pillaged from the garden, just for variety. I really wasn't sure what to expect. I gave my husband the first plate with a heated flour tortilla and he DEVOURED it! So I took a nibble and this is so freaking good!!! Thanks for submitting this most awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
Fast and easy, a delicious meal. I added one large green bell pepper, in slices, to the pan to simmer with the meat and sauce and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
WOW, This is a great recipe. I've made it twice, once for my boyfriend, and once for a dinner party. Everyone loved it, and I'm in southern New Mexico which means we know our mexican food. A native mexican from Sonora raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States