Carne Con Chilies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I followed the recipe and advice to cook this in a crockpot. The meat was delicious, but the sauce was very runny. I don't know what I did wrong. Also, some reviewers said this was sweet - my wasn't sweet and I'm not sure where the sweet taste could come from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I used chicken instead of pork and it turned out really good. I made tacos out of it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This recipe is excellent. I was asked to make it for my mother-in-law and it went over well. I am going to try it with chicken next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I found this to be a very good recipe but the previous chile con carne that I have had was RED and left your nose dripping with every bite (I know, ew)... So I added about6-7 more red chiles and an extra jalapeno, not seeded, and a chipotle pepper. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skizzit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This was delicious, and easy to make on a weeknight. I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of a fresh one. Also did not add the red peppers as we cannot handle too much spice. I think I will add some onion next time to the tomatillo mixture. Served over white rice with cilantro and black beans. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was delicious! I took advice from some of the commenters and used the slow cooker on this one -- 1.5 hours on high and another 5-6 on low. I made a few substitutions with what I had on hand. I only had about 4 tomatillos so I substituted the rest with tomatoes and a roasted anaheim chili. I'm not a fan of seasoning salt, so I just left it out on this one. It was still great! The meat just fell apart in the slow cooker. I would definitely try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I put six pork chops in a slow cooker with the sauce and cooked for about six hours. The meat just fell apart and became a wonderful filler for tortillas. For the sauce I used one can of tomatillas, one jar of salsa verde, and one can of diced tomatoes as the base. Now a favorite in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This was really good! Slightly warm but that's how we like 'em. I may have used the wrong dried green chilis....the recipe said "green sauce" but when it all went in the blender, it turned a light red color. One tomato with all the tomatillos was not the cause of the color change, I don't think. Must have been the peppers. This would be good wrapped in flour tortillas or served over white rice. Kids dipped thier chips in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I agree that this was very easy, very good and in addition, authentic! Considering that everyone has a different palate, I didn't find this very spicy so next time may leave the Jalapenos seeded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I cooked lean, thick pork chops in the crock pot all day, using two jars of green salsa as my sauce base, since tomatillos-fresh or canned-are unavailable in my part of the world. I used the juice from almost 2 limes and close to two tomatoes. I included only one fresh jalapeno pepper within the sauce, but put out a jar of pickled, sliced jalapenos for people to use in the burrito bar I created from this WONDERFUL recipe. I ommitted the red peppers from the sauce, again making them available elsewhere, to allow diners to choose their own heat level. I separated the meat with a fork when done, mixing it with the sauce. The meat was very flavorful and oh so tender. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Pasta con le Sarde

See how to make simple pasta with sardines and fennel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States