Carne Asada Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I swamped out the lemon for a lime and added chili powder and parsley. Good base idea which allows for personal tweaks to the marinade!! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
No flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I would give this 5 stars but really I don't think it would be a 5 star recipe as written. I used this as a starting place and made a few tweaks... First I used the juice of one (very juicy) lime instead of the lemon juice. Next I added a bit of onion powder (maybe 1/2 tsp as I didn't want it to be too strong). I also added about 5 - 10 sprigs of cilantro chopped fairly small. Finally I added quite a bit of kosher salt. I ended up with about 2 tsp of salt, but I added it slowly and tasted until I thought it was right. When finished the marinade was a slightly tart and a bit salty (but not too salty). Make sure you taste the marinade before you add the meat. If it doesn't taste good then make adjustments. I poured it over 2.25 pounds of very thinly sliced (about 1/8 inch) skirt steak and let it sit in the fridge for about 4 hours. I set it out for about 15 mins before cooking and slapped it on a very hot grill. The flare ups were big and it only took about 1 and a half minutes per slice to cook. The end result was PERFECT! Best carne asada I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This was very good. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Nada, zippo, NOTHING like Mexican Carne Asada. I waisted some expensive skirt steak on this lemony ick of a marinade. Not going to try this ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4Six!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I subbed fresh squeezed lime for the lemon juice: AWESOME. Also I salted and peppered the meat before putting it into the marinade and made sure I rubbed it in well. To get the most from your garlic, make sure you get bits of the garlic in the pan when cooking and only flip once and let it sear really well. The marinating in olive oil keeps the moisture in the steak enough so that even the cheap pan-frying cuts (very thin) I used stayed moist through the second night after MICROWAVING it to heat it up for left-overs! (I always place a cup of water, if it will fit, in the microwave when I heat anything that's likely to dry out as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lalakaye13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Makes any kind of steak really tender. Use lime instead lemon juice, add a little seasoning... like cumin, chili powder (or cayenne), johnny's seasoning salt, kosher salt and pepper. This is my go-to marinade for grilling steaks. Made incredible chicken fajitas on the grill with this... even used it on the peppers & onions!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Excellent & authentic 'country' Mexican, only subing lime juice, with subtle flavours. If you expect Tex-Mex, i.e. hot & spicy, you will find this 'bland'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I was searching for a recipe to use the "flap meat" that I purchased. No luck, I guess it might be a cut that's indigenous to SoCal (San Diego), but man! did this marinade do the perfect work, with just a few alterations, as suggested. I used a combo of fresh lime & orange juice, minced garlic (from a jar!), cumin and hot mexican chili powder. The flap steak is a very thin cut used especially for carne asada and it came out so tender I could hardly believe it! I marinaded for about 2-1/2 hrs and we grilled it for about 5 min per side. After cooking, I sliced it into strips and served with flour tortillas, refried beans, sliced avocado and sauteed onions & jalapenos. Yummy yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Great! My first time making Carne Asada, everyone loved the meat. I used limes, cooked meat on a grill. Delish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States