Carne Adovada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
It was fine, but a one timer for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
good recipe! The only thing I did differently was add some canned chipoltles for kick,set some thick slices of onion on the bottom of the slow cooker, used beef broth instead of water and top the meat with some lemon slices for acid. Turned out really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2bmary

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I am surprised that 3/4 cup of chili powder leaves this recipe so tasteless. Definitely needed some doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PresidentsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Fairly easy to do and a great use for chuck roasts. Easy to add things and get the flavour you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This is a fairly good and easy recipe to make. I used a whole roast, shredded it, then ended up adding almost a whole pkg of taco seasoning. Just didn't have enough taste without it. After we added the taco seasoning it was great!! Makes a lot so plan on freezes some for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I have never had carne adovada with lemon juice in it. Although purists out here insist on just the red chilis and water to make "red sauce", I usually add onion, garlic, cumin and a dash of salt, and use chicken bouillion cubes to flavor the water. Some people add tomato sauce - I recommend against it. Use a fatty roast if you are going to slow cook it, like a picnic, so that it stays juicy. This is definitely not a good recipe for a pork loin. Adovada is good on sandwiches, tacos, burritos, for making tamales, and by itself. You don't really need to dress it with lettuce, tomato, cheese etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Considering this recipe calls for 3/4 chile powder, it is amazingly tasteless. It needs severe doctoring. The only good thing about this recipe is the ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverton, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Not bad at all, but I'm still searching for the PERFECT adavada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I added some fresh, minced garlic to the marinade, yet the meat still tasted like a regular roast. I didn't cook the meat in the marinade, but was wondering was I supposed too? I did add some extra chili powder and garlic to the crock pot... It didn't taste bad, but it didn't taste very latin. Probably will make this again, except with some extreme doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
The marinade benefits from adding cumin and garlic (fresh or powdered).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States