Carne Adovada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
My husband and I grew up in New Mexico and this is exactly right! The trick is to use lard!! I doubled the recipe for a 4 pound pork tenderloin, as we like extra sauce. I cubed the meat, put it in the icebox overnight and then cooked in the Crockpot for 8 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I live in New Mexico and have had many versions of Carne Adovada I do have my favorites from the Frontier and other small family owned restaurants and I must say I was very pleased with Delilahs Carne and will continue to prepare it.....I even used the same receipe for making the filling for my tamales......draining some of the liquid...they were a great hit.....thanks Delilah.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
Delicious and very tender. Living in New Mexico and being used to spicy food, the second time I made this, I boosted the chile powder up to 6 tablespoons. To my family, it doesn't increase the heat, just the flavor. Also, 2 teaspoons of salt are just about right. Pork loin was on sale (and leaner than stew meat), so I used that instead. Most restaurants here make carne adovada too hot, but this recipe is just right. It's a family favorite (though there are never enough leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This dish has quite a kick to it! I followed the recipe as close as I could, only adding sauteed onions in with the garlic and using tomato juice instead of water. I took another reviewers advice and adapted it to the crockpot. I braised the pork stew meat in the oil, added it to the crockpot, then sauteed the onion and garlic and layered it over the pork meat, then added the tomato sauce to the hot pan and scraped all those good bits off the pan before adding the spices. After pouring the sauce over the pork meat, I cooked this meat on high for most of the morning. By dinner time, it was perfect. Nicely flavored with quite a kick. We ate these wrapped up in soft taco tortillas with all the fixin's. Good stuff! I'd make it again. It's kind of like eating chili, but it's not chili. NOTE: I had help with this recipe because I didn't know the difference between chili powders. I grew up with the knowledge there was only one kind of chili powder. Not so. If you go to your "ethnic" or "mexican" section of your supermarket, you'll see a portion of mexican spices hanging on j-hooks in cellophane packages. They do have different kinds of chili powder and it is marked very clearly on the package. I used the New Mexico chili powder that's called for in this recipe. A whole cellophane package is the right amount for this recipe. I cannot stress enough that you don't want to use a regular hot chili powder for this recipe, unless you're into that sort of thing. It'll be epically hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Terrific recipe, but very salty - next time I will use only 1 TEASPOON of salt and not the 1 tablespoon listed. Otherwise, a very easy, delicious, authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was very good, I didnt have time to marinade, and it still turned out delicious. I used california chile powder, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, and oregano. I seasoned well, placed on a baking sheet, and drizzled lightly over the meat with veg oil. I baked on 375 for 20 mins, and broiled each side for about 5 mins each side, or until they were nice and broiled on the outside, and chopped into pieces and made taquieria style tacos out of them with onion, cilantro, cabbage/or lettuce, chile, and lemon. MMMMMM so good, the meat had so much flavor, i bet even after marinading its even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Very good. I marinated the meat overnight and put it in my crock pot in the morning. When I got home from work, all I had to do was shread the beef and fix the toppings. I only used 1 tsp of salt and it was fine. I also used a beef roast instead of pork. It wasn't as tender as I had hoped, but it may have just been the cut of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I made this following the recipe exactly, except I couldn't find "New Mexico red chili" at the store and had to use regular red chili. My husband said it was his favorite thing that I have ever made in 8 years and that his Mexican grandma would love it - the ultimate compliment. Our friends thought it was awesome too. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
My family raved about this! Used lard instead of canola oil as a previous reviewer suggested. Used pork shoulder and added one medium onion, finely chopped. DON'T FORGET TO COVER IT BEFORE PUTTING IN THE OVEN...the recipe doesn't say anything and I ruined my first batch by not covering (I should have known better, though). Served with homemade corn tortillas, black beans and sour cream ~ Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Very good! It disappeared quickly on X-mas Eve. I do suggest less salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States