Carne Adovada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I cut the amount of pork in half but i ended up making the regular amount of chile because if i cut that in half too it looked like hardly enough. I made this mainly for my husband as he is from so. california and misses that kind of food. anyway. i never actually ate any as the smell just turned my pregnant stomach but my husband really loved it...i cooked it for 2.5 hours and it seemed a tad too long for my taste. But my husband likes his meat pretty well done. next time i will cook covered
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Very good! It disappeared quickly on X-mas Eve. I do suggest less salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
OH SO EASY AND OH SO TASTY!!! EVERYONE TOOK HOME THE RECIPE. JUST SERVED IT IN FLOUR TORTILLA WITH SPANISH RICE FRIDAY AND THOSE SERVED WANT TO PREPARE IT TODAY SUNDAY FOR THEIR FAMILIES. STARTED IT IN THE CROCKPOT WHILE AT WORK AND FINISHED IT OFF IN THE OVEN FOR A CARMALIZED LOOK AND TEXTURE. WILL TRY IT NEXT WITH CHEESE ENCHILADAS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I live in New Mexico and have had many versions of Carne Adovada I do have my favorites from the Frontier and other small family owned restaurants and I must say I was very pleased with Delilahs Carne and will continue to prepare it.....I even used the same receipe for making the filling for my tamales......draining some of the liquid...they were a great hit.....thanks Delilah.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This was an excellent recipe! I didn't change a thing! However, I would like a little more heat so next time I may add a little cayenne pepper. This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Very good. I marinated the meat overnight and put it in my crock pot in the morning. When I got home from work, all I had to do was shread the beef and fix the toppings. I only used 1 tsp of salt and it was fine. I also used a beef roast instead of pork. It wasn't as tender as I had hoped, but it may have just been the cut of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
Fabulous! I haven't had this since I returned from New Mexico two years ago. I tried this in the crockpot using a pork butt roast with great results. Also took earlier suggestions and reduced the salt and used 4 heaping tablespoons of New Mexico Chile. By the way, if you have trouble finding New Mexico, it (and other New Mexican food)can be ordered over the internet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I made this following the recipe exactly, except I couldn't find "New Mexico red chili" at the store and had to use regular red chili. My husband said it was his favorite thing that I have ever made in 8 years and that his Mexican grandma would love it - the ultimate compliment. Our friends thought it was awesome too. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
Delicious and very tender. Living in New Mexico and being used to spicy food, the second time I made this, I boosted the chile powder up to 6 tablespoons. To my family, it doesn't increase the heat, just the flavor. Also, 2 teaspoons of salt are just about right. Pork loin was on sale (and leaner than stew meat), so I used that instead. Most restaurants here make carne adovada too hot, but this recipe is just right. It's a family favorite (though there are never enough leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Terrific recipe, but very salty - next time I will use only 1 TEASPOON of salt and not the 1 tablespoon listed. Otherwise, a very easy, delicious, authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States