Carne Adovada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
My boyfriend liked it alot. I thought it was alright but wish the flavor had gotten in the meat better. This time we used beef roast. Next time I will try pork instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bawkbagawk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Used this with pork chops...everyone loved it. There were no leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
It sure is melt-in-your-mouth delicious - the pork comes out very tender flakes away, and the spice is just hot enough without burning your mouth. Make sure you cover the pork with something if you want any of the sauce to remain after cooking (and grease your pan!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I prepared this dish using regular chili powder and served with rice. It was tender and tasty, but very salty. Maybe the recipe should read one TEASPOON of salt?? Otherwise an OK dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This is a great authentic recipe! I can't believe the negative responses because this recipe turned out great! Just the way it is traditionally done. The discrepencies must come from how some posters prepared this wonderful, succulent dish that is so versatile. It is a great filling for tamales, or for enchiladas. If you follow directions carefully...this recipe will come out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I thought this needed more flavor. The suggestion of 6 Tbs. of chile powder rather than 4 might be worthwhile, but my family and I weren't so enamored with this that I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanibel Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I think I used the wrong cut of meat for this, because it came out rubbery, and kind of had a texture like jujube's :-((, but the sauce was soooooo good, I'll definitely make this again with maybe carne asada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This was excellent! I followed the recipe as stated and found it easy. I served it for the very first time to 10 dinner guests for a 'Mexican' night. Some how I always try out new recipes for the fist time when entertaining. My husbands says it's risky business but I have yet to serve a 'flop'. 5 quests left with the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This was horrible!! It was like eating extremely HOT sawdust! There was no flavour left in the meat after marinating it for so long, and then cooking it for so long! The recipe said cook for 4 1/2 hours, I only cooked it for 3, and it was disgusting! We will not be eating this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States