Carne Adovada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
One of the best Carne Adovada I've ever eaten, said my husband, who orders it in every restaurant that offers it. The pork was tender and the flavor was superb, spicy but not so hot you couldn't enjoy it. I used 4 tablespoons of New Mexico chile powder but varied it from mild Hatch to extra hot Hatch. I also used just 1 teaspoon of salt thinking tablespoon was a typo. I served it with rice and pinto beans. What a meal! Thank you, Delilah, for an absolutely delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Placitas, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I took other suggestions and used "hot" New Mexico red chili and I added two diced, seeded habanero peppers. After marinating it overnight, I put it in my slow cooker with one large diced onion and 1/4 cup water. 8 hours later, it had great flavor and it wasn't too spicy. I took it to work, and had several adamant requests for the recipe. The real compliments came from my hispanic co-workers who thought it was excellent. This is a real keeper!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I did not find this recipe to be at all authentic and I grew up in New Mexico. This is definitely a regional dish. I tried the recipe anyway since I did have the red powder on hand. It just didn't cut it for me and was quite salty. I guess since I prefer my carne hot, I will just tweak it next time with red chile (even Bueno's frozen as I can get that here).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Good thing everyone wrote such rave reviews for this recipe because the photo almost made me pass it by - looks gross and nothing like mine looks at this point. So far so good (it is in the oven) and a great main dish for company that you can start and forget until time to serve. Allows time for sides (or finishing cleaning up the house) w/o all the last minute fuss. Smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This has an amazing taste. I would prefer some heat along with it but it is great just the way it is. I do agree, however that there should just be 1 tsp of salt used instead of the 1 tbls. The only thing I ever changed was I added a medium size can of fire roased green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This is really tasty. I didn't have any dried New Mexico chili powder so instead I took 3 cups of water and boiled it turning the heat off after it reached boiling. Meanwhile I took the stems and seeds out of 5 whole red chili's and added them to the hot water and let them sit and soak for about a half an hour or so, making sure they were completely submerged. After this I put water and chili's into the blender and pureed them. Then followed the rest of the recipe as stated except I ended up using the slow-cooker. I should have added more water cooking it this way because after I came home 8 hours later it was starting to burn to the bottom of the slow-cooker. I would suggest using a lot less salt as well because after you make the sauce and before you put it on the meat to marinade it is not salty at all but, after the meat has cooked and the sauce has thickened it is way too salty. Maybe use only half as much as it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I've used this recipe over and over again. Its a family favorite. I first tried adovada in Chimayo, New Mexico and everytime I taste this recipe it brings me right back to that delightful area. When I'm lazy I use the crockpot and don't bother to marinate ahead of time. Still darn yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Very GOOD! I often purchase the preseasoned, ready to cook, Adovada at my local Hispanic market. When I have the time to do it myself, I use this recipe. We love Adovada and this an authentic recipe. After reading some of the other reviews, I would suggest that people use the right kind of chiles. If not, the taste will not be the same... you can not sub regular chili powder for the New Mexico Reds. Thanks for the delicious post. We enjoy this recipe immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This is literally the best thing I have ever eaten! I add 1 diced sweet yellow onion, 1/4 cup brown sugar, and the juice of 1/2 a lemon. You MUST use the New Mexico Chili Powder! Pair with the Spanish Rice II recipe and Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
My husband and I grew up in New Mexico and this is exactly right! The trick is to use lard!! I doubled the recipe for a 4 pound pork tenderloin, as we like extra sauce. I cubed the meat, put it in the icebox overnight and then cooked in the Crockpot for 8 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States