Carne Adovada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was a wonderful recipe. I used pork roast instead of stew meat. Tasting the sauce before marinating the meat in it, it was salty, but after cooking it was perfect. I also cooked it in a crock-pot, which made it a bit runny, but a quick fix of adding flour thickened it up. This tastes like the Carne Adovada we eat from our favorite mexican food restaurant. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is very good! Tastes just like authentic New Mexican food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Interesting new flavor! It has an earthy taste with dried cherry tones. Found the spice at Whole Foods. I followed it exactly but altered it to 15 servings for a 4lb pork tenderloin and baked it for only 3 hours;covered. Now here's my results/thoughts: I think it's a little too salty, so cut that down and add some other stew components like red bell pepper and onions,etc., but add it 45-60 min before it's finished cooking. Although, pork tenderloin is leaner and more healthier, it turned out a little dry for our taste, so I think a fattier content like pork butt/shoulder would suit us best. But if you are going to use pork tenderloin, I suggest doubling the sauce. So overall this was really good for change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I have made this many times in the past, but this time for our Holiday party it got rave reviews! Living in New Mexico, folks are pretty well informed on this entree, but many said this was the best they have ever tasted. Be sure to cook for the long long time to get the meat really tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne of Jemez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Loved it! Came out so tender. Will make often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This recipe Rocks!!!! So tender and the flavor is out of this world! I used 4 lbs of pork tenderloin cut up. I marinated it over night and cooked it in the crock pot all day. It was so easy and Oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Lewis Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoftballMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Speedway, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
My family raved about this! Used lard instead of canola oil as a previous reviewer suggested. Used pork shoulder and added one medium onion, finely chopped. DON'T FORGET TO COVER IT BEFORE PUTTING IN THE OVEN...the recipe doesn't say anything and I ruined my first batch by not covering (I should have known better, though). Served with homemade corn tortillas, black beans and sour cream ~ Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This dish has quite a kick to it! I followed the recipe as close as I could, only adding sauteed onions in with the garlic and using tomato juice instead of water. I took another reviewers advice and adapted it to the crockpot. I braised the pork stew meat in the oil, added it to the crockpot, then sauteed the onion and garlic and layered it over the pork meat, then added the tomato sauce to the hot pan and scraped all those good bits off the pan before adding the spices. After pouring the sauce over the pork meat, I cooked this meat on high for most of the morning. By dinner time, it was perfect. Nicely flavored with quite a kick. We ate these wrapped up in soft taco tortillas with all the fixin's. Good stuff! I'd make it again. It's kind of like eating chili, but it's not chili. NOTE: I had help with this recipe because I didn't know the difference between chili powders. I grew up with the knowledge there was only one kind of chili powder. Not so. If you go to your "ethnic" or "mexican" section of your supermarket, you'll see a portion of mexican spices hanging on j-hooks in cellophane packages. They do have different kinds of chili powder and it is marked very clearly on the package. I used the New Mexico chili powder that's called for in this recipe. A whole cellophane package is the right amount for this recipe. I cannot stress enough that you don't want to use a regular hot chili powder for this recipe, unless you're into that sort of thing. It'll be epically hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States