Carne Adovada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. Would cut the salt and double the sauce next time--otherwise delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
We have cooked this recipe SO MANY times (making again tonight)- had to write a review! We love this one. It is RICH and HEAVY and WONDERFUL! The only substitution is that we use green chili powder from a supplier out of New Mexico. We eat this with Chile Cheese Puffs or Corn Tortillas (make fresh with Masa Harina! SO good!), Guacamole and/or Sour Cream, and spiced black or red beans & rice. We have served this to guests many times, and NOBODY misses an invite for Carne Adovada! It is on the saltier side - so depending on your taste - you may want to reduce it. We like it just the way it is! This is one of my husband's favorites to make, and he considers it one of his "specialties". :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Used this recipe for supper last night! Being from northern New Mexico it's a must have on the menu at my house! My Husband (from Oklahoma) loves this now! Thank you Delilah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Great recipe, and as others have stated, you may have to adjust the salt to taste. I live in New Mexico and have tried various recipes but this one get's it right. Thanks and kudos to Delilah Lopez for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Really good! (Watch the salt though it calls for a Tablespoon! which could easily be reduced to a teaspoon.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Cooking time was excessive for the size pork chunks I had and this was salty. Fortunately I pulled it out before it was over done. Liked the taste and will make again. Eat it all in the first sitting because the leftovers aren't that good when nuked. (DRIED OUT)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I just returned from Taos, NM with a bag of dried mixed types of chili pods. I'm from Texas and made it using a third cubed venison, and a third cubed beef, and a third ground pork. I used olive oil to brown the meat in a separate cast oil skillet and then added added it to the roux mixture with the chili mixture. I let this simmer slowly for about 2 hrs, and then added a 2 Tablespoons of corn meal for the last 10 minutes of simmer time. The olive oil gave it depth and the corn meal added texture. It was quite hearty and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Delicious! Limitations forced me to change the recipe, but it totally worked. I used 1# of beef stew meat instead of pork, didn't allow the sauce to cool, and just popped the beef and sauce in the oven in a covered dutch oven for 3.5 hours at 325 and it was tender and delicious. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Carne Adovada is my favorite New Mexican dish, and this recipe makes a really good one. I'd stake it against the best I've had at Tomasita's or Maria's. When I did it, I marinated overnight, chopped up dried New Mexican peppers (from a bag at the store), used a crockpot, and cut the salt by about half as recommended by another reviewer. Plus I added some Wondra at the end to thicken the sauce a little. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Absolutely delish, and made the house smell so good!! I served it with sour cream, cheese, and buttered tortillas. Managed to save just enough for me to have leftovers for lunch. Thanks for the great recipe--will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janee'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States