Carnation® Raisin Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Only thing I did different was to let the prepared pudding (bread slices buttered both sides lavishly and 'cubed' before mixing) sit for a few hours in the fridge before I baked it, and also replaced the raisins with chopped pecans. I did 1 1/2 batches and baked in a (non-stick sprayed) 9 x 13 inch glass casserole. From the nestle site, where I first found this recipe, to serve with caramel sauce was optional; so I tried it with caramel (I loved it) and custard sauces (family's request), both homemade. Very much a comfort food, anytime, anyday. This recipe is eons ahead than the more popular bread pudding II (Ellen's) also from this site. Excellent recipe, not eggy and not mushy; and the smells when baking - buttery, creamy ... mmm .. anyone entering the house instantly felt hungry, lol. Good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This is awesome! I hadn't tried bread pudding before this; the thought of soggy bread was over the top for me. My whole family enjoyed this so much, though, that it will definitely be a regular around here. I poured in the cinnamon and nutmeg (those things don't get measured in my kitchen), and I added cut-up apples (peeled, of course)and walnuts. Wow-ee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
We cubed the bread (since the recipe did not call for it), added extra vanilla, and cubed apples. We had to bake it for about an hour instead of 35-45 minutes, but it was worth it. We drizzled warm caramel sauce on top and it was delicious. Recommend adding granulated white sugar in the mix and definitly adding the caramel sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Overall this was a pretty tasty recipe. I adjusted it to 4 servings and baked it in a Corning Ware baking dish (covered), for about 40 minutes. I then uncovered it so it would brown nicely. I had to bake it for about an hour though. It was a very moist recipe. Next time, I will increase the spices a little bit and add a little granulated sugar. A little warm bread pudding topped with Cool-Whip for breakfast never hurt anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le Artiste

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winkelman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This was real good. I used a loaf of homemade cinnamon raisin bread I made in my breadmaker that was a few days old. I cut the bread into cubes and added 2 cubed, red delicious apples. I baked an additional 10 minutes. This turned out good and smelled good cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMS121

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is a perfect recipe on it's own however I sometimes add canned apples to the bottom of the pan before putting in the bread and egg mixture. Add ice cream while it's warm for a wonderful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I made this for guests who absolutely love bread pudding and they said this was one of the best they had ever had! I served mine warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was really great and my husband loved it! The only change I made was I used raisin bread instead of regular bread and added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is one of the simplest recipes to create and yet results in a sweet, rich concoction. Similar to other reviews, I let it bake for 45 minutes an hour, which did not dry it out too much and still let it very soft. Instead of regular bread, I used Cinnamon swirl bread (NOT Cinnamon Raisin-- I added my own raisins), cubed; which resulted in a cinnamon roll flavor. Thus, I also reduced the cinnamon ingredient. I did not add nutmeg; as I am not a nutmeg fan. To serve, I topped it with cinnamon to decorate and Carnation condensed milk swirled which not only created a beautiful display, but lovely accented flavor. On other pieces, I omitted the condensed milk and topped it with raw, white Star Thistle Honey (you can find this at gourmet stores). This was also lovely. My boyfriend warmed it up with Ben & Jerry's and enoyed it a la mode. Overall, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrsolyaD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Excellent and easy peasy! I omitted the raisins because I don't like raisins, but I think cranberries will be tasty and will try them in the future. I used whole grain bread because that was all I had in the house, and 3 leftover cinnamon rolls (so I reduced the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg slightly). I added a green Granny Smith apple peeled and cubed as well as walnuts, and after baking I drizzled with T Marzetti caramel sauce and topped with whipped cream. It smelled heavenly while it was baking. I could barely wait to taste it! I ended up having to bake for 50 minutes total. I will make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonPye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States