Carnation® Quiche Lorraine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This is by far the most popular recipe I've served to family and friends.... and so versatile! I use diced ham instead of bacon when pressed for time, and ground sausage with some sage makes it really hearty. I also throw in veggies whenever I'm in the mood - spinach and mushrooms are great. I've also substituted 1/2 cup Cheddar for some of the Swiss - it adds color and a little "bite" to the flavor (be sure you keep at least 1 cup of the Swiss, I've discovered that reducing below that alters the texture too much). Basically, you can suit whatever 'food mood' you encounter with this amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
I've made this quiche several times, but I use cubed ham instead of bacon. I also use green onions. It turns out perfect every time. It also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
I liked this recipe although it came out a bit greasy tasting due to the bacon. I chopped mine up before putting it in the pie and used some low fat monterrery jack cheese mixed with swiss and a dash of red pepper. Next time I will use all low fat cheese and skim evap. milk to make it more light tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
A favorite in our home! We like using sauteed diced deli ham, chopped onions and frozen spinach in ours. Add a little nutmeg, pepper and cinnamon to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Really Good! Added one extra egg and put into 2 dozen pre-frozen tart shells. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
I made this for my 3 picky children and one picky husband. Thay all loved it! I used skinless breakfast sausage I cooked and chopped up instead of bacon and I added some diced green chiles. I also used cheddar instead of swiss cheese. It's a great basic recipe that can probably be altered many different ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This is a quick, delicious recipe that can be adjusted for different ingredients. I swap the swiss and bacon for mozzarella and ham with roma tomatoes. Everyone loves when I bring this quiche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Outstanding! Even my husband, who turned up his nose when I told him what we were having, ate 2 big pieces! I also lowered the fat by using turkey bacon, evaporated skim milk, and egg beaters. I also only used 1 1/4 cup of swiss cheese since it was all I had. I added 2 chopped plum tomates that made it just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
Very good and easy. I cut the bacon before I cooked it, easier than crumbling the bacon after it is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This was awesome! I did add sauteed mushrooms but, everything else I followed to the letter. This quiche was sooooooo good. Next time, I'll make two of them. Who'da thought the evaporated milk could replace heavy cream?... Not me! This was delicious! Thanks! Erin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States