Carnation® Quiche Lorraine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
This is a very simple yet very delicious quiche. I made it for breakfast when my in-laws were staying with us and they seemed very impressed with it. I used half and half when I found I had forgotten to purchase the evaporated milk and it came out wonderful. I also found that it was necessary to use a lot more egg - I used six extra large eggs in mine and it barely covered all my bacon, onion, and cheese filling in a standard pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stilwell, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Yummy quiche. Used real bacon bits instead of cooking bacon and it worked fine. Why would anyone use sweetened condensed milk when the recipe clearly states evaporated milk? You can use regular milk as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This is very good. I ususally don't make quiche because it calls for either 1/2&1/2 or light cream -- neither of which I usually have on hand, but I always have a can of evaporated milk. It was a very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I really liked this recipe and my boyfriend said it was the best quiche he had eaten. I made the recipe exactly as it was written and it was perfect. Definitely not runny at all. I did use the largest 3 eggs in my container but thats about it. I definitely loved this recipe and won't look for another. I am looking forward to trying different veggie combinations though. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
Easy to make. Loved by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Condensed milk is absolutely no substitute for evaporated! In Asia, it's used to make milk coffee and tea so you don't have to add sugar. Quiche is savoury not sweet! If you must find a substitute, cream is the closest. Overall, a very versatile recipe though I like to use chives for colour instead of onions. I usually add some parmesan for added richness as well. Guests complained why I bake only 1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
I love this quiche so much! Was so incredibly easy and my guests were totally impressed. I like that one reviewer's comment about the jalapeno cheese- sounds like a must do. People- read directions! Don't use sweetened condensed milk or you will make everyone laugh, or shake heads in frustration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
excellent - as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This is an excellent quiche. I added one extra egg and left out the nutmeg. Very good. I used a frozen deep dish pie crust and precooked bacon, which made it quick and easy. In response to one reviewer, sweetened condensed milk is for making candy and very sweet desserts. It is not the same thing as evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
Sweetened condensed milk is NOT a suitable substitute for evaporated milk. It is sweetened, hence the name, and using it as a substitute will affect both the flavor and the texture of the dish....The quiche is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States