Carnation® New England Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I used 1 regular potato and 1 sweet potato and added a half package of gnocchi. Delicious! Great easy clam chowder recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Overall, good basic clam chowder recipe. I will add chopped or whole clams next time though. It was too easy to miss the minced clams. I also added a jar of clam juice and extra bacon to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was my first attempt at making clam chower. my husband didn't like how chunky it was but that is personal preference. My kids 12,11,9 and 3 liked it as well. I would say it's a keeper =) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Loved this! I used 3 cans of clams and 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk (because that was what I had on hand). It wasn't salty enough for my taste so added 1/2 T Janes Crazy Mixed-up Salt (a staple in my kitchen) and a generous pat of butter right at the end. This was so good my roomate who doesn't like clam chowder ate it and proclaimed it very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I like this recipe I've made a very similar recipe all my cooking life. I prefer thin chowder so I omit the flour. Leaving out the worchestershire sauce, I season with celery seed, dried thyme leaves, crumbled and a torn up bay leaf that is removed at serving time. The Carnation milk makes a rich-tasting but lower fat and lower calorie version. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
pretty good as is. we added more clams, more spices, old bay, tarragon, thyme more pepper. turned out great! not sweet at all, i think maybe some people added CONDENSED milk and not EVAPORATED milk. big difference there:) made a batch of cheddar bay biscuits and had a happy family:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlezenkitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I usually base the recipes on whether my husband has more than one helping and has it the next day. He ate it for supper, and that was it. It was good but ....I don't know...very milky. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My friends wanted me to make it again. Nice thing about using Carnation is it does not curdle on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tapa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it was amazing! Husband and I agree it was the best we've had except a recipe at a local high end restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Excellent. My son used this recipe for a dutch oven cook-off with Boy Scouts. He needed to make it user friendly for camp-outs, so he used frozen cubed southwestern potatoes, and he ground up peppercorns at home and omited the carrots and onions. He quadrupled the recipe and no less than 50 people tasted and tested this recipe. They raved over the flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States