Carmel's Crunchy Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Cannot wait to make this again and again over the summer. In order to decrease the fat I used water chestnust instead of the cashews, and half bacon/half Morningstar Farm veggie bacon...no one at the table suspected a thing! Then, when I opened my new container of sour cream...it was spoiled and I had to substitute. I used what sour cream I had left in the fridge with equal parts nonfat plain yogurt and ranch dressing, mixed in a little sugar to take the edge off the yogurt. I would do the same next time, healthier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Delicious salad, Dee! I like to cut down on fat where I can so I omitted the cashews and added chopped waterchestnuts. To cut the pungency of the dressing, I added 2T mayo to the sour cream. On occasion I have added 2t of dry ranch dressing mix also.The bacon to green onion ratio makes this salad a big hit in our family. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
I really liked the cruncy difference but I changed it just a bit; I added half sour cream and half Ranch Dressing and it gave it a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This was the greatest tasting recipe for pea salad that I have ever found! I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a great hit! Only problem was that it disappeared too quickly. Next time I will double the recipe. A sure-fired hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This was a big hit at a party I had. I also added the 1/2 package of Ranch Dressing for seasoning. I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Absolutely delicious. I don't usually add the cashews, I throw a can of French Fried Onions on top. I also add a bit of mayo to the sour cream, as suggested by a previous reviewer, along with a bit of dry ranch dressing mix. Love this stuff... it's a family favorite! Thanks, Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
OUTSTANDING. WE HAVE A FAVORITE RESTAURANT THAT SERVES PEA SALAD REGULARLY AS A SIDE AND IT'S VERY GOOD BUT THIS TOPS THAT ONE FOR SURE. I USED KNUDSEN LIGHT SOUR CREAM WHICH IS ONLY 35 CALORIES FOR 2 TABLESPOONS AND IT'S GREAT SO IT CUTS THE CALS ALOT. I USED CRUSHED WALNUTS BECAUSE IT'S ALL I HAD AND IT WAS FINE BUT I THINK YOU COULD ELIMINATE THE NUTS ALTOGETHER AND IT WOULD STILL BE GREAT BECAUSE YOU GET LOTS OF CRUNCH FROM THE CELERY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This was very good. I also added half a pkg of ranch dressing mix to the sour cream. Also added cheese. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
Had a picnic to go to that I needed to make a quick side dish to take. This salad was ready in 15 minutes and I got lots of raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This was too rich for my tastes. Maybe it's just me though, because my husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States