Carmel's Crunchy Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Outstanding! What a nice change from the same old salads! Great for summer picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
It was a bit bland for my taste and I don't care much for soggy fried bacon in mine, so I omitted that. Instead, I mixed in some Uncle Dan's ranch dressing and thinned slightly with buttermilk. I also followed the other readers advice and added some crunchy onion rings to the top. Very nice addition! I didn't have cashews, but I had sunflower seeds and I roasted some sesame seed. It was yummy. Plenty of crunch without the bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
really easy and really good. i don't love mayo, so this was a nice alternative. family loved too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
After reading the reviews we decided to just make the salad as is. Glad we did it was excellent and we added the dressings that we liked. Thanks for a great post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Good! Very refreshing, I loved the taste. I used light sour cream and half a small red onion, chopped, instead of green. Added some dried dill. I only had 1/2 cup of cashews, but I liked that amount. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This is a good pea salad recipe. I added a couple of hard-boiled eggs, cubed cheese and chopped pickles. I did not have any cashews on hand so I did not use them but next time I will try adding the cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Cannot wait to make this again and again over the summer. In order to decrease the fat I used water chestnust instead of the cashews, and half bacon/half Morningstar Farm veggie bacon...no one at the table suspected a thing! Then, when I opened my new container of sour cream...it was spoiled and I had to substitute. I used what sour cream I had left in the fridge with equal parts nonfat plain yogurt and ranch dressing, mixed in a little sugar to take the edge off the yogurt. I would do the same next time, healthier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
My 10 year old LOVED this - but then, she'll eat a chair if it has bacon wrapped around it! I'll make this again - I have other bacon lovers in mind who will go crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sand Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This was a hit! I agree with the other reviewers to double the recipe if serving more than 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I've made this recipe several times, always to rave reviews! It's requested for all office functions, and my family loves it in the summer time. I use a 16 oz bag of petite peas, and light sour cream, and adjust quantities upward somewhat. The recipe is not fussy about amounts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States