Carmel's Crunchy Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Outstanding! What a nice change from the same old salads! Great for summer picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
It was a bit bland for my taste and I don't care much for soggy fried bacon in mine, so I omitted that. Instead, I mixed in some Uncle Dan's ranch dressing and thinned slightly with buttermilk. I also followed the other readers advice and added some crunchy onion rings to the top. Very nice addition! I didn't have cashews, but I had sunflower seeds and I roasted some sesame seed. It was yummy. Plenty of crunch without the bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
really easy and really good. i don't love mayo, so this was a nice alternative. family loved too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
After reading the reviews we decided to just make the salad as is. Glad we did it was excellent and we added the dressings that we liked. Thanks for a great post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Good! Very refreshing, I loved the taste. I used light sour cream and half a small red onion, chopped, instead of green. Added some dried dill. I only had 1/2 cup of cashews, but I liked that amount. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This is a good pea salad recipe. I added a couple of hard-boiled eggs, cubed cheese and chopped pickles. I did not have any cashews on hand so I did not use them but next time I will try adding the cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Cannot wait to make this again and again over the summer. In order to decrease the fat I used water chestnust instead of the cashews, and half bacon/half Morningstar Farm veggie bacon...no one at the table suspected a thing! Then, when I opened my new container of sour cream...it was spoiled and I had to substitute. I used what sour cream I had left in the fridge with equal parts nonfat plain yogurt and ranch dressing, mixed in a little sugar to take the edge off the yogurt. I would do the same next time, healthier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
My 10 year old LOVED this - but then, she'll eat a chair if it has bacon wrapped around it! I'll make this again - I have other bacon lovers in mind who will go crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sand Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This was a hit! I agree with the other reviewers to double the recipe if serving more than 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I've made this recipe several times, always to rave reviews! It's requested for all office functions, and my family loves it in the summer time. I use a 16 oz bag of petite peas, and light sour cream, and adjust quantities upward somewhat. The recipe is not fussy about amounts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States