Carla's Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Spraying the foil with non stick spray is a MUST or they all stick. Should be in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
They weren't anywhere near done - sausage was still raw and outsides were practically burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
These are kinda good. I made them using the exact recipe. I was surprised when I made them, I thought when I made 1.5" balls that they would shrink a little, but they turned out huge! I didn't add anything to spice it up since it called for hot sausage, but the ones I picked out were overpoweringly spicy. It would be better to refine this recipe using mild sausage and a measure of complimentary spices. I also used the 8 ounces of sharp cheddar as called for but it didn't come through in the finished product very well, especially against the spice and Bisquick. Both my brother and I tried these (incidentally he works at McDonalds) and even though I did not tell him there was bisquick in these he said "I handle a lot of sausage and pancakes every morning, and that's what this tastes like, but spicier." He then broke out the maple syrup and dipped them in it, and that's when it became clear: this is not a great party food or a great starter or app, but it IS decent as a breakfast item. If you want a good party version of this, I would use more cheese, a lot less bisquick, and melt some cheese over the top of the balls at the end. Also, they should be closer to 1" in diameter. If you keep them as is, they might be good as part of some kind of breakfast meatball sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
My family has been making these for as long as I can remember. Using a good quality of sausage and sharp cheddar makes a big difference. Personally, I like them better after they've been frozen. It may sound strange, but freezing them first seems to help maintain the moisture better while they're cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Maybe I've been depriving myself from the whole sausage biscuit thing but my goodness, these are tasty. I made them for a party at the last minute (super duper easy!) and they were the first thing gone from the table! Perfect app snack, football day treat for a large crowd. So easy, the kids even helped make 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTDINK
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Love them!!! Fast, delicious, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Tried this recipe for the first time for Xmas party and they were a hit, making them again for New Years Eve!! I added cream cheese to the mix to make them a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
These are very tasty and easy to make. I did cut down on the cooking time my oven must be faster- 1st batch came out dry, but one I decreased cooking time they were awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made these for a Christmas gathering, and they were liked by all who tried them. I can tell you, they are DELICIOUS right out of the oven. After they've cooled, pop a few in the microwave for 15 seconds or so. It makes them more tender and brings out all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIBOWERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Turned out too greasy, so I warn that you should be careful the sausage you use. Used a different brand and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Spaghetti and Meatballs Muffin Bites

Individual, party-ready spaghetti and meatballs bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States