Carla's Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
the more sausage the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAY10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I made these for my husband's office for breakfast. Very simple ingredients - just make sure it is well incorporated before rolling into balls. It will look very dry and crumbly, but, keep working with it and it will come together into a smooth ball. Make sure you don't see any of the dry Bisquick. I only used about 1-1/2 lbs of sausage and about 1-1/2 cups of Bisquick. My oven cooks hot - so, I also baked at 350 for 20 minutes instead of 400 and they were perfect. I also baked them on a parchment covered baking sheet and they came right off the paper. Thanks, Mitchell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I have found that if I microwave the sausage for a bit, it is easier to mix with the other ingredients. After cooling, I freeze these in a ziplock bag and microwave as many as needed for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Perryton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Used combo of beef & pork sausage, these are now my go to meatball appetizers. Very easy and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Delicious! I used Jimmy Deans sausage, did NOT precook it before baking, baked at 350 bc my oven cooks hot. These were a HUGE hit at a church breakfast. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
These are great. I've been trying to find a recipes for Hot Shots that I've had at Wild Wings on Hilton Head Island. Yum. These are the closest I've gotten. I served them with the "Yummy Honey Mustard Dip" found on Allrecipes. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/yummy-honey-mustard-dipping-sauce/detail.aspx I covered my baking sheet with parchment paper and turn them half way through baking. They lift off easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I was searching for a cheese ball recipe and happened to find this recipe. I've been making this EXACT recipe for years. If you don't have hot sausage or want more kick, try adding some crushed red pepper. These sausage balls are requested of me all the time! And they are really simple to make. You can mix ingredients and shape the balls a few days in advance if needed. You might want to save a few for breakfast the next morning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I had never heard of sausage balls before. My sister-in-law (who's from the South) says these are very common and made them for our Christmas dinner. AMAZING!! Loved them. Highly recommended and truly the easiest thing in the world to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This will be the receipe I use from now on. I love my moms but these a way better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
FYI - It says makes 12 servings, and my batch made 60 1-1.5" balls. So I guess it's 5 balls = 1 serving? The sausage I used was 1 lb Great Value brand mild pork sausage (in the chub) + 4 links (about .8 lbs) of Great Value mild Italian pork sausage. I didn't have sharp cheddar, so I used medium cheddar (Tillamook) and grated a little over half of my full pound brick. (a little extra cheese to make up for the too little sausage). A full 2 cups of regular bisquick. It made 62 balls for me. Baked at 400 for 17 minutes on parchment paper lined pans. These produce a fair amount of oil/grease, so best to use a fully rimmed pan to prevent spills when taking out of the oven. The flavor was great, though mild. Perfect for the kid and parent crowd at my party tomorrow, though sophisticated palettes will appreciate using the hot sausage and sharp cheddar IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States