Carla's Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
These were a hit at our Easter brunch...not as dry as some other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Vegetarian option: I know it sounds weird making sausage balls vegetarian but I use Light Life Gimme Lean ground sausage and it works very well. I don't use vegan cheese because I feel that stuff is not very good but I do use Cabot farms cheese and it's a rennet free cheese so it just has the dairy as the only animal product. They will seem a little dry but just work them into balls and when the cheese melts they will be moist. I take these to work and the non vegetarian people have no idea their meat free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I made this as written for a super bowl party and it was good. I like more flavorful items and this was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Made this today and must tell you that these balls are absolutely delicious!! YUM-O! Liked the tip about spraying the tin foil; didn't do it on the first batch but managed to get them off the foil without too much trouble. They taste like Philadelphia Scrapple which I dearly love!! Will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harriet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I liked the recipie pretty much just as it was, my boyfriend liked it better than I did. Unfortunately for me I don't do "hot". The only change I will make the next time is maybe mild it down a bit for wimps like me. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hrdwrkdmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clendenin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Spraying the foil with non stick spray is a MUST or they all stick. Should be in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
They weren't anywhere near done - sausage was still raw and outsides were practically burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
These are kinda good. I made them using the exact recipe. I was surprised when I made them, I thought when I made 1.5" balls that they would shrink a little, but they turned out huge! I didn't add anything to spice it up since it called for hot sausage, but the ones I picked out were overpoweringly spicy. It would be better to refine this recipe using mild sausage and a measure of complimentary spices. I also used the 8 ounces of sharp cheddar as called for but it didn't come through in the finished product very well, especially against the spice and Bisquick. Both my brother and I tried these (incidentally he works at McDonalds) and even though I did not tell him there was bisquick in these he said "I handle a lot of sausage and pancakes every morning, and that's what this tastes like, but spicier." He then broke out the maple syrup and dipped them in it, and that's when it became clear: this is not a great party food or a great starter or app, but it IS decent as a breakfast item. If you want a good party version of this, I would use more cheese, a lot less bisquick, and melt some cheese over the top of the balls at the end. Also, they should be closer to 1" in diameter. If you keep them as is, they might be good as part of some kind of breakfast meatball sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
My family has been making these for as long as I can remember. Using a good quality of sausage and sharp cheddar makes a big difference. Personally, I like them better after they've been frozen. It may sound strange, but freezing them first seems to help maintain the moisture better while they're cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Maybe I've been depriving myself from the whole sausage biscuit thing but my goodness, these are tasty. I made them for a party at the last minute (super duper easy!) and they were the first thing gone from the table! Perfect app snack, football day treat for a large crowd. So easy, the kids even helped make 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Spaghetti and Meatballs Muffin Bites

Individual, party-ready spaghetti and meatballs bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States