Carl Reiner Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2000
Great cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I got this recipe in the 70's when Carl Reiner made them on the Dinah Shore Show. They have become a Christmas favorite with my family and friends. They aren't pretty but the taste is fabulous. They taste better after they are cooled. When I take them as Christmas gifts to the office they are ALWAYS the favorite cookie...I have to give them away or I would eat them all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I got this recipe on the HBO Comedy Special, made it a few times, loved it, but eventually misplaced it. I finally have it back, and I can't wait to make it again. Thanks for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Love these cookies! I've made them off and on for the last 27 years. I use one halved walnut per dropped cookie instead of chopping the nuts and adding to the batter. I couldn't believe how good these were the first time I made them after writing down the ingredients Carl gave inbetween comedy acts on a show he hosted. I ALWAYS double this recipe 'cus they are just soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I got this recipe when Carl Reiner was on An Evening at the Improv on HBO in the early 80's. I lost the recipe a few years ago and just found it here. I'm so glad to have this, the cookies are heavenly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I had 4oz of cream cheese left over from a recipe and went looking for a cookie recipe and came across this one. These are so good they melt in your mouth and didn't last long at all. So easy to make without a lot of fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Mellina
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Excellent. These cookies are so, so easy to make and taste wonderful. I'll be making these often from now on. The great thing is that they are not picky. If you overcook them a little, it's no big deal. No special techniques are necessary, just mix the ingredients together and put them in the oven. The one thing I don't like about them is that they are so rich, I can only stand to eat one or two before I'm full. Actually though, healthwise, that's probably a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Rich or not, these didn't seem to have a whole lot of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I used margarine instead of butter because the written instructions stated "oleo." Oleo is the vintage term used back in the 60s and 70s for margarine. It gives it a cake like texture that is both dense, soft, and what some might consider greasy. These are the cookies I grew up with and I loved everything about them. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States