Caribbean Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Outstanding bread! The flavors meld beautifully with no competition among them. I mixed up the ingredients and then 1/2 it. I baked the first batch as written which was wonderful, but the second batch.... Oh my! Added 1 extra banana, 1 tsp of banana extract, 1 tsp of coconut extract, a pinch of orange rind, cranraisins and golden raisins and then added walnuts, pecans and macademia nuts. On a side note for the second batch: The addition of a 3rd banana meant having to cook it a little longer. Definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Killer, KILLER bread. Like ZOMG good. I had no applesauce because I haven't been able to make my own lately, so I used one cup melted butter. My family is not a fan of coconut so I left it out. (Shame on them. I'm going to go ahead and add it next time, they can stick it.) I made no other changes. I did cover it halfway through with foil to keep it from burning. So, so good. The combination of all those flavors was off the hook. Scotdog, you were dead on, girl. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Fantastic! This is the best zucchini bread I have ever had. The only changes I made were to only use 1/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup applesauce, just because I ran out of oil, and added pecans instead of walnuts. This bread is super moist, has amazing flavor, and the texture is perfect. Mine did need about 60 minutes in the oven. Thank you for sharing this with us! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
5+++ This is fantastic! I used 2 cups WW Pastry & just 1 c All Purpose. Went a bit lighter on the brown sugar & replaced half the white sugar with some Splenda. Used my homemade pumpkin pie spice for the nutmeg. Subbed pecans for walnuts & left out the coconut. I'll be giving these as Christmas presents to co-workers, yum!! I also used my mini loaf Pampered Chef stone. It made 4. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JL
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very delicious. I decided to make muffins instead of loaves. (Much easier to serve.) I was perhaps, a little conservative with the ingredients...it wouldn't have hurt to add more coconut and a little more brown sugar/cinnamon/nutmeg. (I'm famous for not exactly measuring ingredients, haha my fault) I didn't have any walnuts so I made it without. Husband and roommate both said they were delicious, especially with butter. It was a tad bit difficult to gauge the cooking time, but it was around 40 minutes for 12 muffins. The insides came clean off the toothpick, but upon the first taste, the muffin still seemed kind of mushy. I learned that the inside will firm up as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I've been experimenting with a lot of quick breads lately, and this is the tops! It's so moist, and the kids couldn't get enough of it! I also went light on the white and brown sugars, and used 2 c. WW flour and 1 cup all-purpose. I really like the combination, what a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
One word for this quick bread DELICIOUS!! I made it exactly as written, it was simple to make and would be good with a layer of cream cheese on it. It's sweet enough and really tasty!! Thank You Tahoe Girl!! You have a winner here!! Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
We are always trying new things to have with coffee in the mornings, and at least semi-healthy is a must for us. This will fit in nicely for us. I goofed and mixed up the flour amounts and so did 2 c whole wheat and 1 c white, and I made one loaf with nuts and the other without and both without coconut (trying to please the extended family's tastes). They turned out great. I found that when the toothpick came out clean, though, it could have used a little more cooking time, so next time I'll use the method where you touch the top of the bread and it's done if it springs back up quickly. I like that the recipe was already made in a healthy way so I didn't have to change things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Idiot proof...I forgot to add the eggs and then 5 minutes into cooking I put them in and the bread still came out delicious!!! I also added dried cranberries and left out the nuts and coconut.WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
WONDERFUL - even my picky husband who hates zucchini bread keeps coming back for another slice. The bananas and the coconut give it that extra special flavor. So very very very moist. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States