Caribbean Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Wow! Great recipe to use up both Bananas and Zucchini! We loved the flavor and texture of the bread. Next time we'll use less sugar, maybe just a half cup of each. Thanks for sharing tahoegirl~~from N. Dakota : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Let me start off by saying I suck at making bread. It always comes out burnt around edges and raw in the middle. This bread came out perfect. The only change I made was I left out the coconut. Yum yum yum. The boys ate the first loaf in a couple of hours! I would feel proud sending one of these off as a gift or for a pot luck. Next time I might leave out the nuts, (toddler didn't like those). Tip, I made sure there was some distance between the loaves in the oven, also half way thru I switched their sides. I think I cooked them for 55 min. I probably could of got away with 50. Either way this is a great recipe. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bagdad, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very tasty. To add more nutritional value, I altered the recipe just a bit - used 2 cups whole wheat flour instead of 1, added an extra banana for moisture, three cups of zucchini, cut the sugars to 1 1/4 cups (still sweet), and roasted the walnuts on the top. I made muffins instead. Cooked them for 27 to 30 minutes. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUNNYDAC
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Excellent bread - really moist and delicious! Our family really enjoyed this bread and we will definitely be making it again and again! I made the recipe as written and added a light vanilla glaze on top for a special treat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
UPDATE: MY PARENTS REALLY ENJOYED THIS - EVEN MY CONFIRMED, "HEALTHY STUFF = NO GOOD" DAD! :) Mmmm! Good bread, Tahoegirl (and I'm not really a fan of sweet / quick breads in general...). :) I've been wanting to bake something lately, but haven't had enough time to. This weekend, I did. I like to bake for others mostly, so when I saw that this recipe yielded two loaves, I was sold. The fact that this is a healthy recipe was the final deal "maker" for me. My dad is on a restricted (heart healthy) diet. He refuses to eat whole wheat / grains (doesn't like them), but incorporating them into his diet is very important. Since I have two loaves of bread, I'm going to deliver one to my parents. The good news is that 99% of the time they enjoy what I share with them. If I can "trick" my dad into eating this and THEN tell him that it's healthy, maybe he'll be more open to expanding his diet lol! Healthy foods don't have to taste bland - and this certainly is proof of that. One note: I had to bake my two loaves (I purchased (2) 8 x 2 in. disposable loaf pans because I only have one stoneware loaf pan at home) for nearly 70 minutes. At the 45 minute mark, both were gooey (i.e. "raw") when a knife was inserted into the center of each one. Another thing to note: I found that 2 smallish-sized zucchini's precisely yielded 2 1/2 cups shredded with just a teeny bit leftover. Thanks so much for sharing your grandma's recipe, Tahoegirl! I'm sure my parents will thank you too. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Absolutely AMAZING! Me and the little guy made this together today, and let me just say that there was flour (and everything else) flying, lol. We had the best time and the results made it all the more special! I used my tube pan and just poured all the batter in there and that worked out perfectly. I made this exactly as written and would not change a thing! Tahoegirl, a BIG thanks to you and your Grandmother, for a truely delicious recipe that I will be making OFTEN, and for the great memories that were made today with my son! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Frickin awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof3girls

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I've never made any of these quick breads before so this was my first attempt. My family devoured this bread. My daughter even brought some for her boyfriend to try, he gave some to his mom, and I was asked to please share the recipe. Didn't change a thing. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I used pecans instead, which were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States