Caribbean Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I love this bread! I made a few modifications though. I used 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup of buckwheat flour and then the 1 cup of wheat flour. I ran out of cinnamon so I added a dash of pumpkin spice in addition to what cinnamon I had. I also didn't have applesauce so I substituted coconut oil which adds great flavor. Overall great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Excellent bread. I made this last night (I have tons of zucchini and was in the process of shredding to freeze. Followed the recipe with one exception. I decided to double the recipe and but realized I only had 2 bananas (rats), so I rummaged through the pantry and found an 8 oz. can of crushed pinapple so I subsituted this (gently drained) for the 2 missing bananas. It turned out great, however I am sure the correct number of bananas would have been just as good. Thanks for the recipe. I am sharing it, along with sample of the bread at work today :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is also great gluten-free. Just substitute the 3 cups of flour with your favorite gluten-free baking mix and add 1.5 tsp xanthan gum. The recipe is already so moist that the dryness of the gluten-free flours is not noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Solid recipe. Cut the recipe in half to make 1 loaf. Changed it a bit to accomodate ingredients on hand-- used sweetened applesauce and doubled it to replace all of the oil, used 2 ripe bananas and omitted the coconut. The extra banana made it wetter so I had to bake it for 70 minutes. Tastes Great, and I don't usually like zucchini bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Delicious! I did make a couple of changes. I didn't have apple sauce, so like other suggested I subbed butter for that and the oil. Also, the kids were so excited that I was making muffins, I couldn't disappoint so I made into 24 muffins instead of bread. Worked out really well! I was able to use up the zucchini and ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I made this this bread yesterday and all I can say is what a mistake. I have been a semi-professional baker for may years and this was a true failure. I followed the recipe to the letter and it was heavy and overly bananaish. Will not make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Wow! Great recipe to use up both Bananas and Zucchini! We loved the flavor and texture of the bread. Next time we'll use less sugar, maybe just a half cup of each. Thanks for sharing tahoegirl~~from N. Dakota : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Let me start off by saying I suck at making bread. It always comes out burnt around edges and raw in the middle. This bread came out perfect. The only change I made was I left out the coconut. Yum yum yum. The boys ate the first loaf in a couple of hours! I would feel proud sending one of these off as a gift or for a pot luck. Next time I might leave out the nuts, (toddler didn't like those). Tip, I made sure there was some distance between the loaves in the oven, also half way thru I switched their sides. I think I cooked them for 55 min. I probably could of got away with 50. Either way this is a great recipe. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bagdad, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very tasty. To add more nutritional value, I altered the recipe just a bit - used 2 cups whole wheat flour instead of 1, added an extra banana for moisture, three cups of zucchini, cut the sugars to 1 1/4 cups (still sweet), and roasted the walnuts on the top. I made muffins instead. Cooked them for 27 to 30 minutes. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUNNYDAC
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Excellent bread - really moist and delicious! Our family really enjoyed this bread and we will definitely be making it again and again! I made the recipe as written and added a light vanilla glaze on top for a special treat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States