Caribbean Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. I wouldn't change a thing. The cooking time is right on but I added 15 mins for a large loaf. My second attempt will be with almonds instead of walnuts just because that's what I have on hand. The coconut flavour is a nice addition. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
very good, bread. not overly sweet. I liked the tropical flavors in the recipe and did not feel they dominated. i had bake my bread for 5 min longer that the time stated and yet they still were not 100% finished but that may just be my oven. be sure to check your loves before to pull them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Totally amazing! I made this today since I have a ton of zucchini from my garden. I didn't have applesauce so I used 1/2 melted butter instead. I also added 1 cup chocolate chips and pecans instead of walnuts! I could not keep my family away from this. They ate an entire loaf in less than 1 hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
The recipe is quite good as is, but based on what I had in stock and what we really like, I made the following changes, and it was awesome! 1) Changed the flours to 1 cup white & 2 cups whole wheat 2) reduced the oil by about 1/3 3) didn't have any applesauce to use but used a little crushed pineapple instead (even more Carribean) 4) added one more very small banana 5) reduced the sugars by more than half and added some Splenda or Sugar Twin to replace just some of that (maybe half). 6) added some coconut as another poster mentioned (also a sweet component) 7) added about 1/2 c chopped pecans too (actually ait was probably a little more than that, because we really love them down here in Texas) 8) tossed in a few raisins and dried cranberries too as well as about 1/3 c of flax seed. 9) lastly I added about 1/3 - 1/2 c of quick oats for a little extra fiber. I used 4 mini loaf pans. Just make sure they are evenly spaced in the oven and check for doneness with a toothpick a little sooner than you would with the larger loaves. Next time I may leave some of those ingredients out and try fresh chopped cranberries (for a little tartness and maybe substitute a little grated carrot for some of the zuchini just for a little change-up **Btw if zucchini is on sale or you just happen to have a lot on hand, grate it and freeze in 2 1/2 c portions to be ready to bake the next batch. Spread it thin in a freezer container or flat in a freezer bag for quick incorporation on short notice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Waayyyyyy to sweet! I really didn't like it much because of this. I did some alterations to make it healthier and I loved it! I replaced half the oil with apple sauce, used only 1 cup of sugar total instead of 2, and used the following flour combo: 1 cup white flour, 1 cup multigrain flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 2/3 cup bran. It tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
All I have to say is that this is the best thing I've ever baked, hands down. And I bake a LOT. I used 3 bananas, doubled the coconut and used 1 1/2 C. of Whole Wheat Flour and 1 1/2 C. White. Amazing. Made them into muffins, baked for 25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was an amazing recipe, perfect because I was looking for one that would use less oil and maybe could incorporate my ripe bananas. It called for applesauce and some whole wheat flour. I didn't add the coconut or walnuts due to allergies, plus I doubled the recipe and it came out very moist and delicious. Big hit even with kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenlovestocook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I didn't have walnuts on hand so I subbed in Heath Bits. I like this bread a day old better than fresh...easier to slice. It freezes well. Keep in fridge unless you will be eating it all within a few days...very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 57haddreams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Love love love this recipe. I didn't have applesauce so i just added a grated an apple. Anyone ever make muffins rather than a loaf?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is by far THE BEST zucchini bread recipe I have EVER made! I made two batches! The 2nd I didn't have the ripe bananas nor the walnuts so substituted a carton of vanilla greek yogurt. Also added a little more applesauce, then used pecans. I'm saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandmom3b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States