Caribbean White Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rosita
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Delicious and so simple to make!!! my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havana, La Habana, Cuba
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
We wanted to serve this as a main dish although, judging by the serving size, this would only make a small side dish. We used a whole onion, a whole green pepper, and half of an acorn squash and around a cup of dried white beans instead. With these adjustments, I would say this recipe makes around 4 servings, although they're still on the small side for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was very good and tasted better the next day. Followed recipe exactly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
excellent instead of the green pepper, onion, garlic, cilantro i used my home made sofrito (almost same thing). i omited the bouillon and salt and added some diced ham and throw it into the sofrito when your simmering it in the beginning and a couple diced olives never hurt anything :) but i dont use them all time. great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhoenixMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chamberlain, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Freeport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This recipe was delicious- I used butternut squash in place of calabaza- Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
With several changes, this recipe is a favorite. I added 2 cups of butternut squash in place of the 1/4 cup of calabaza and I also used an entire bunch of cilantro instead of one sprig. This was a hit at my families Christmas get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
One of the best chilies ever. It had just the right amount of spices (and I do like spice!). Perfect for the fall weather. Serve with cornbread and pumpkin butter, or some coconut shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suerte126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was really easy to make and soo inexpensive and healthy! I followed the recipe exactly. I served it with white rice and pork chops. I was very pleased and so was my husband! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
We had this dish last night and it was sooo good, each one of us repeated twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
So good! I used Jamaican Jerk seasoning and yellow summer squash. A few red pepper flakes for heat and some brown sugar for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States