Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
Come on people!Doesn't anybody taste the dishes they make before they serve them?!I'm so tired of people giving a recipe a bad review because it didn't have enough flavor,salt,spice etc.Adding more flavor is about the easiest change you can make to a recipe.Make it,taste it,if it needs something more for your taste,add it!Everyone's taste is different~think for yourselves!Don't blindly follow a recipe that was made to a different persons idea of flavorful! That said~this was a great start and a great recipe once I personalized the flavor level.I added more lime,mustard,garlic,salt and pepper,and used 1Tbs veg. oil and 1Tbs peanut oil.I also used Yukon Gold potatoes because I like their texture more than Russet's.Great looking,great tasting,great texture! Enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
359 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
5 stars only for Great recipes -- this one deserves it! Don't be put off by negative reviews... some people just don't get it. This is NOT a potluck item or the deli slop you get at the supermarket; it's designed to be featured in a menu of complementary dishes. I continued the Caribbean theme and grilled jerk chicken (Jay's), accompanied with a spicy mango salsa (both recipes on this website) and rice. As with all dishes calling for produce or herbs, freshness is key! -- most ingredients were purchased the same day at a farmer's market. Used Yukon potatoes and fresh sweet corn sliced from the cob. Cucumbers add an unexpected freshness and texture. After a decade of cilantro overkill, this dished utilized it for maximum definition. The dressing was wonderful; just added a little extra lime for zip. Will be using this dish repeatedly -- especially at potlucks where previous reviewers will leave it for me to take home and devour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by slmcm
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Loved this. I made it for a gathering and everyone loved it! I used parsley instead of cilantro...only because I goofed when I bought it, but I'm not a big fan of cilantro so it worked out for me! I also doubled the entire dressing part of the recipe and used about 2/3 of the amount of the dressing I made. I bought two medium russet potatoes because they didn't have the giant ones, also bought a yam (or so it was labled - I don't really know the difference). Also, I cooked the potatoes the day before, dunked them in ice water after cooking (as stated) and then sealed them a plastic container in the fridge. I think this really helps set the potatoes so that they don't fall apart. I also made the dressing the day before and I think that helped meld the flavors. I mixed the solid ingredients at home before taking to the outing and I put the dressing on at the VERY LAST minute right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slmcm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This is a unique recipe for a different potato salad. For Weight Watchers -- it has 4 points per serving. I cooked white and sweet potatoes together and tested their doneness at intervals. Added frozen corn at last minute. The only change I made to the recipe was to add some curry powder --- made all the difference in the world....picked up the flavors of sweet potatoes, as well as other vegetables. I will be making this recipe for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I made this on Sunday and it was really good. The only change I made was to cut back on the oil a bit. I made it a day in advance as I wasn't going to have time on Monday to make this. Big mistake. I don't know quite what happened, but on Monday this tasted really different. The cucumber had shed a lot of water so it was watery and bland and not very appetizing. I am going to try and salvage this tonight, somehow but if you do decide to make this.. make it on the same day you are planning on serving it. letting this sit overnight like some salads does not improve the flavor. I didn't add the nuts until I was ready to serve so those were kept crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This salad was cool and delicious. The only problem was that I made it in the morning for dinner that evening and couldn't get out of taste testing mode. Almost didn't have enough for dinner! I did use extra lime juice, cut fresh corn off the cob (super easy and it doesn't get mushy like canned), and used a seedless cucumber. Don't let the unusual ingredients scare you away. They really make the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
OOOOH, YUMMY! This was delicious! We used twice the amount of potatoes, and used half of the oil called for. The amount of dressing was perfectly preportioned to the salad. The combination of sweet, tangy, and nutty was fabulous. We'll make this again (and it's pretty too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This recipe is fantastic, a refreshing change to your typical sweet potato dish. I used extra lime juice and used regular mustard with honey rather than dijon and it was gobbled up in no time! I felt this is served best at room temperature and don't add the nuts and cucumber until serving time to preven them from going soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
A must try! I have been making potato salads for years, and this one is tops. For probably the first time in my cooking career I did NOT change or add anything to a recipe. It's perfect just the way it is! I love the contrasting textures and flavors, and friends commented on the beautiful presentation. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANOLAGIRLTOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakemont, New York, USA
Living In: Little Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
Excellent! I used a little less oil to cut down the fat..and it was fantastic. Served this with jerk chicken and mango salsa. Will make this potato salad again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States