Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
My family loved it! Even my 2 yr old and 12 month old. I did use olive oil instead of the other oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
As with any recipe: read the reviews first for advice and tweaking, and then make it your own. Before bashing a posted recipe, understand that cooking isn't always an exact science, it's food. And everyone likes different things. This is the only sweet potato salad I've ever tried/made that was so creative with such a unique taste. I brought it to a potluck myself, and everyone loved it. The only thing I would have changed would to use salted peanuts instead of dry-roasted because I didn't add that much salt to begin with. Also, I cut the onion in half and minced it well. I didn't get the chance to use fresh corn, I used canned, and it was STILL amazing. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I really wanted to LOVE this--and it was very tasty--but it lacked zing. One thing, for sure, is that it needs more salt than what's in the potato-boiling water. It would also benefit from a little more lime juice. Even still, I will most definitely make this again because it was still a tasty potato salad with beautiful preentation. I'll just try to doctor it a bit more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I LOVE sweet potatoes, so I was anxious to make this recipe. I turned out excellent! I did make a couple of changes, though. I used 2 sweet potatoes instead of white potatoes, and I omitted the onion, cucumber and nuts. I also added about 1 Tbl of honey to the dressing. Even my husband thought it was great! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
OOOOH, YUMMY! This was delicious! We used twice the amount of potatoes, and used half of the oil called for. The amount of dressing was perfectly preportioned to the salad. The combination of sweet, tangy, and nutty was fabulous. We'll make this again (and it's pretty too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
i love this recipe and will use it time again, Im sure. I will, however, use less red onion...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by slmcm
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Loved this. I made it for a gathering and everyone loved it! I used parsley instead of cilantro...only because I goofed when I bought it, but I'm not a big fan of cilantro so it worked out for me! I also doubled the entire dressing part of the recipe and used about 2/3 of the amount of the dressing I made. I bought two medium russet potatoes because they didn't have the giant ones, also bought a yam (or so it was labled - I don't really know the difference). Also, I cooked the potatoes the day before, dunked them in ice water after cooking (as stated) and then sealed them a plastic container in the fridge. I think this really helps set the potatoes so that they don't fall apart. I also made the dressing the day before and I think that helped meld the flavors. I mixed the solid ingredients at home before taking to the outing and I put the dressing on at the VERY LAST minute right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slmcm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Beautiful and Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Very Good! A great change from your typical potato salad. Found myself having to make more of the dressing and adding more of each flavorful ingredient in order to give the whole thing a stronger taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I don't know what I was expecting, but something a little bit more than this. The dressing was good but I wanted something with a little bit more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States